Back to Top

Simone Helena (30)

World, Africa, South Africa, Cape Town

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since


My English is of a high standard, but it may be difficult to understand me because of my accent. I am able to converse in German, with basic reading and writing skills

Last seen online
more than 6 month ago

About me

A peoples person who is very observant and assesses situations in their entirety and pays close attention to detail.
I enjoy fine wine and dining, travel, being outdoors and getting dirty, visits to the beach and using my hands creatively. My guilty pleasures are street food and cakes.
I love being out of my comfort zone and opening myself to new experiences and cultures as I believe it shapes and builds character.
I speak 5 languages and am well versed in English (which is my mother tongue), Afrikaans, an intermediate German speaker (with 2 years experience at university) and a basic French and isiXhosa speaker. I herefore enjoy teaching English, but moreover learning new languages.

Preferred location

An avid young traveller, looking to experience new cultures and adventures


I am a qualified political scientist, having graduated at the University of Stellenbosch, with a degree in International Studies. I am currently completing my post-graduate degree in History.
I am passionate about environmental education and awareness and have been an environmental activist and advocate for 7 years. Furthermore, I love working with children and youth and also have a soft spot for the elderly.
I have extensive experience working with environmental based NGOs such as, Green Peace, Save the Planet, British Council, Avaaz and many more. I teach environmental education around South Africa and have experience in working with the Business sector and Government. Furthermore, I have experience in events planning and coordination and working as a liason officer.
#Public Speaking #Activism #Advocacy #Microsoft Suite #Proposal Writing #Researching

Additional info

I am a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I have been a smoker for 3 years, but am able to quit when needed. I will fully respect the host family's rules and commit to quitting should that be required of me. I do not have a drivers liscence, but have a good command of the public transport system.

Type of work I want to do

  • farming
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • animal care
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • eco projects

Where I want to volunteer


India, Korea, Republic of, Malaysia, Thailand


France, Germany, Malta, Netherlands, Turkey


Ethiopia, Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Seychelles, ... 3 moreSwaziland, Tunisia, Zambia

South America



Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu

More photos about me

The activist
Public speaker
Enjoying good food and wine
The traveler
The academic
My host mom