Back to Top

Garrett (19)

World, North America, USA, Irvine

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

I refuse to let myself down.

Volunteer since
2022

Speaks

Last seen online
3 weeks ago

About me

I am Garrett Garcia, nineteen years old and just out of high school. I have three siblings and five dogs. As a kid, I used basketball to escape the reality of never feeling purposeful. But when I graduated high school, and basketball was gone, I was left with a reality where I felt out of place, and purposeless. I understood then that, for me, existing itself is not enough. I didn't always know why I felt so incomplete, but I let this feeling eat at me and drive me into a very dark place. At some point in the darkness, I was able to find a new light. Something bigger than me and everything I knew. I wanted to start being a part of the solution rather than the problem. I am Ecuadorian-Peruvian, and helping kids in Ecuador around my age would fill me with the purpose I have always been looking for. I don't want to do this for my resumé or for people to look at me as a "good person". I want to help because that is the reason I am on this Earth.

Skills

I thrive in a team environment. I have always been a noble leader and role model to my peers. I grew up in a huge family, and everyone had to help each other and do their part for the house's functionality. I have extensive experience assisting non-English speakers in improving their learning skills; I went to Spain for two weeks, meeting kids from around the world. We relied on each other's language-teaching skills to build a strong relationship. Education is a privilege, and I will never take that for granted. I have always been a curious one, and I love spreading my knowledge, whether it be teaching projects or helping with personal life skills. I also love kids and understand the hard work and patience a child yields.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • child care / au pair
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • teaching projects

Where I want to volunteer

South America

Ecuador

More photos about me

Me and my dog Luffy!
Me, my younger brother Brennan, and my sister Emma!
  • Fast response
  • Payment verified
  • Email verified
  • Experienced
  • Review received
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified