Back to Top

Gerri

World, North America, USA, Providence

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since
2018

Speaks
English
I am learning Spanish and can usually get the gist of the conversation if one is speaking slowly. A personal goal is to learn Spanish in a formal education training program!

Last seen online
3 Months ago

About me

Curious, responsible, dedicated, single and seasoned woman fulfilling a quest for life enriching experiences. Being at the point where I can actually say that something happened 20 years ago has been both frightening and liberating! I want to see, touch, taste, and experience places and people unlike my own. That desire has found me in the desert of Tunisia, African dancing in Mali, inhaling the spice markets of Morocco, shopping the souks of Egypt, in the rain forests of Belize, trekking a canyon in Columbia, and quitting my teaching job to move to Mexico for year to work in an international school....a decision met with complete disbelief by those concerned with me having the security of a job, a pension, and safety of the familiar.
I owe this insatiable desire to immerse myself in cultural exploration to becoming an urban educator- my diverse students opened the entire world to me. Teaching was a second career, a decision made with passion and purpose, as opposed to the mythical benefits, such as summers off and easy work hours- I've not found that kind of education job yet!!
I have a M.A.T. in elementary education (1st-6th grade), an M.Ed. in reading (1st-12th grade), a M.Ed. in administration, and a National Board Certification in Adolescent Literacy. My first decade in education was in the middle grades( 6-8), and the second decade in high school (9-12). My career has brought me much joy and much heartbreak as well; it is invigorating and exhausting, but I'm kept young and vital through working with teenagers, and get to renew and improve the art and skill of teaching with every new school year.
The humorist, Kathy Buckworth, once stated, "Fifty is described as the youth of old age, or the old age of youth", which really resonated with me! Different aspects of my life fall on both sides of that paradigm; I embrace and enjoy that duplicity because on either side of that paradigm coin I have abilities, perspective, and gifts to share. I have much to offer, but more importantly, much to gain through travel and immersing myself in someone else's world. I look forward to meeting you, as a person who feels the same way!

Preferred location

This summer I'd like to travel throughout Europe, Mexico, or South America. But, this is about experiences after all, so please do not hesitate to contact me if something in my profile strikes you as a potential match!

Skills

I've been an urban educator for 20 years, middle school and high school, which has given me a broad range of skills in patience, organization, motivation, and a passion for the diversity of people and their experiences. My career started in the arts as a dance educator, and along the way I've taught international studies, reading, and literacy intervention. I also spent a year in Monterrey, Mexico teaching at an international school. I enjoy the simple pleasures in life- reading, knitting, nature, gardening, movies, and food- exploring food traditions and learning how to cook. I love to immerse myself in cultural experience that put in the heart of traditions such as dance, celebrations, food, and fiber arts. I look forward to talking about my skills and interests that match your needs!

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • animal care
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • eco projects
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • house sitting
  • language practice
  • pet sitting
  • teaching projects

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

Belgium, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain

Travel dates