Back to Top

Ylva & Craig

World, Europe, Scotland, Burntisland

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Wanting to explore Scotland

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
English, German, Spanish
I am a native German speaker but have been living in the Uk for a couple of years now and have also studied there, making my English almost perfect. I have recently moved to Mexico and am learning Spanish t the moment.

About me

My name is Ylva. I am currently a student studying Geography with a focus in sustainability living together in Edinburgh with my boyfriend, Craig who is also a student studying mathematics and computer science.
I am originally from Germany but have lived in both the U.K and Mexico over the last 5 years and Craig is a true scot.
We are both explorers and have travelled and backpacked throughout the world, always excited to see more of the world.
Although we are currently at university, we are trying to make our time an adventure and are therefore on the road again.
We are currently out of uni for a few months and therefore looking for anything between 1- 3 months, although we are very flexible so we do not have a specific date in mind.
We are looking for a place, where we feel welcome and respected. Somewhere where we are able to contribute meaningfully and expand our knowledge on organic and sustainable living but where we can also feel at home.

Skills

Ylva: I am ready for all kinds of work from helping in the garden, helping with guests, helping around the house. I learn super quick and happy to do (almost) anything. I am a great cook, especially veggie/vegan, which my boyfriend can confirm smile. Working as a waitress, I have done several workshops in food hygiene and safety and know how to deal with customers
I have years of babysitting experience and get on with kids very well.
I am German but have been living in the U.K for more than 4 years. Being bi-lingual I have some teaching experience and I would be more than happy to teach. I have also had a dog for 14 years so I know my way around pets.
I am a geography/ sustainability student therefore extremely interested in a sustainable way of living.
Craig: growing up I have always helped my family with their greenhouses/gardens accumulating a variety of outdoor skills. This has also turned into a passion as I would now proudly call myself a self-proclaimed hobby gardener.
I have completed a two-year engineering apprenticeship, which has allowed me to develop skills such as working with tools and following health and safety regulations in engineering environments. During that time I specified in using Lathes and Milling machines.
I have also worked at PeachyKeen who are specialists in human energy systems. In this role, I worked on a hydroponics system as well as working at the Edinburgh Climate Festival. I am interested in any sort of renewable energy project.
I am a Mathematics and Computer science student therefore web design, web development and programming skills to build a website, improve social media etc.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

  • Payment verified
  • Slow response
  • Review received
  • Experienced
  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified

Type of work I want to do

  • computer help
  • gardening
  • hostel support
  • internet support
  • language practice

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

Scotland

Travel dates

More photos about me

  • Payment verified
  • Slow response
  • Review received
  • Experienced
  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified