Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

What is important is not the destination, but the way we get there.

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
English, French

Preferred location

In 2017 I'm planning to travel around Australia, I want to explore this huge country and I'm feeling the outback calling...
My project so far : To work in organics farm to learn new skills and if I have the opporunity to help in the building of one earthship (see http://earthship.com/). As a frenchman this travel should also allow me to practice my english, so I can continue my academic scholarship in Australia (I currently have a master degree in ecology and interaction between soil/plants and micro-organism) to get a PHD in the field of mines' ecological restauration.

Skills

I've spent the last 3 years working as agronomic engineer in a researsh institute (IAC) in collaboration with the mining industry here in New-Caledonia, this job allowed me to work on : breaking seeds dormancy, plant nursery, logistics for in-situ plantation and growth monitoring. It also let me have a glance at toxonomy and cartography.
I've helped my dad to build a house, nothing big but I can always give a hand for construction activities.
For my hobby : I've learned classical guitar and kung-fu wu-shu during 6 years between my 11 and 17years. I'm currently practicing meditation and I'm trying to practice it on a daily basis.

Additional info

I am a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I'm currently a tobbaco smoker, but I'll stop smoking in Australia. I got a driver licence for manual car, and little motorbike (125cm3 max). I'm not a vegetarian by myself but my mother is, so I'm not bothered if I don't see any kind of meat in my plate as I'm currently living with her and preparing most of the meals she eat.

Type of work I want to do

  • construction
  • farming
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • animal care
  • art projects
  • eco projects
  • house sitting
  • pet sitting

Where I want to volunteer

Oceania

Australia

More photos about me