Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Celebrate Everything Until Further Notice...

Volunteer since
2016

Speaks
English, Spanish
I am a native English speaker and am at a functional Spanish level. I will be spending a month in Cuernavaca in January intensively working on improving mi espanol!

Current location
Mexico

Skills

I am a Canadian retired teacher and winter snowbird in Mexico. I have lived in Ajijic, Jalisco, San Miquel de Allende, Guanajuato and Oaxaca City. I taught Intermediate English and Conversation at Oklahoma English School in Centro Oaxaca. Last summer I was the manager of a successful new Airbnb called Islandia on Salt Spring Island. I enjoy attending Spanish and cooking schools wherever I am.
I have a wide and varied skill set that includes organizational and hospitality support. I was a top rated Airbnb host when I owned my own home in Penticton, British Columbia. I now live in the beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo but am location independent. I hold a B.C. Food Safe 1 certificate as well as a Bartending one. I am flexible, adaptable and a creative problem solver.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I am a retired Canadian maestra with full TESL credentials and a Mexican Teaching certificate. I am also a past Airbnb host in my own home and an Airbnb manager for an ocean view property called Islandia on Salt Spring Island.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • computer help
  • elderly care
  • house sitting
  • internet support
  • pet sitting
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

North America

Mexico

More photos about me

I welcome new opportunities and challenges near and far!
I am working on a Jack Canfield Train the Trainer Certificat
Last summer I was a manager of a new Airbnb on Salt Spring I
This is my Mustang ragtop called Mavrik!