Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks
German, English, Spanish, Portuguese
I am native Portuguese speaker, but also communicate (Understand, Read, Write and Speak) pretty well in English. I can also communicate (Understand, Read and Speak) quite well in Spanish. In German I understand a few words and do basic conversations.

Last seen online
3 Years ago

About me

My name is Rui Machado, I'm 28 years and from Portugal. I am currently doing my PhD in Regenerative Medicine and Chronic Diseases, specifically linked to systems biology (computational side of investigation). I am an outgoing person, very shy at first, but when I feel comfortable with new friends, one could say you get a friend for life. Quiet, tidy and clean.

Skills

I have studied Biology, Biomedical Sciences and Currently studying Computational Biology for my PhD, but since not many hosts are looking for these kind of expertises I would be willing to do anything to expend some time in a country I have been looking forward to visit and learn about their culture and language. I consider myself a good cook and could shown you some of the western cuisine. I am also a good caretaker, capable of cleaning and maintaining simple appliances. One could say I am a handyman. Love to try new kinds of food, meet new people and learn about the culture

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • teaching projects

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Japan

Europe

Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden