Back to Top

Piet (68)

World, Africa, South Africa, Pearly Beach

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks
English
We also speak basic French, German, Dutch and Mandarin

Last seen online
6 Months ago

About me

My wife, Hannie, and I have retired to the idyllic seaside village of Bushman's River Mouth in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. We share a cottage close to the river and beach with my sister-in-law, Roline Norval.
All three of us traveled extensively on assignments during our careers as journalists. Since retirement, we have made use of every opportunity to travel, including home swop, and now volunteering.
I was fortunate to spend the last stage of my career in internet journalism and website content management. It included two years on a contract for Multichoice in the People's Republic of China.
In retirement, I have continued to write weekly for a local newspaper. Because of my interest in food, especially grilling, I have spent some time managing restaurants.
One of my main pastimes is foraging for wild indigenous edibles, mainly mushrooms inland and shellfish on the coast.
I find the green movement fascinating and my backyard farm is coming on nicely with free range chickens, composting system, and vegetable patches. My most recent project is the development of a hydroponic garden on the deck of our river cottage
Bushman's River is surrounded by the African Bush with game reserves, hiking, and river trails. In an environment such as this, it impossible not to be a keen hiker and canoeist.
My wife studied music, I studied theatre, and my sister-in-law was an art editor. I have thus developed an interest in theatre, music, and al the arts.

Preferred location

Apart from the countries I have listed, I am open to discussions. I can travel short term, medium term as well as long-term, anywhere, anytime. My wife, my sister-in-law and I have two homes in Bushman's River mouth in the Eastern Cape. Both houses are available for home swop. We are intrepid travelers and our most recent home swop visit was to Argentina. We can volunteer individually, as a couple, or the three of us together..

Skills

I am an English and Economics major graduate with many years of experience in journalism, teaching, and content management for the Internet. I am a fit 67-year-old prepared to do chores around the house, garden or farm. Preferably my wife and I would like to volunteer together. She is also a BA graduate and 64 years old with similar skills. We would excel in assisting with web content management, teaching, public relations and tourism promotion.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • animal care
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • computer help
  • eco projects
  • elderly care
  • farming
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • hostel support
  • house sitting
  • internet support
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, ... 4 moreSri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Europe

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Guernsey, ... 16 moreHungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Wales

Africa

Comoros, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Reunion, Seychelles

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, ... 3 morePeru, Suriname, Uruguay

Travel dates

More photos about me

Piet Marais