Back to Top

Lifestyle block on outskirts of Auckland

World, Oceania, New Zealand, Auckland

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

19°C, 17:41

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

We have a 4 acre lifestyle block, nestled at the foothills of the Waitakere Ranges. 30 mins from Auckland CBD, 20 minutes from a range of beautiful West Coast beaches, we find our land a haven from our full-time work.
We're looking for people that are comfortable with horses, dogs, chickens and not afraid of hard work or being on their own during the day.We're re-building the land, maintaining and developing infrastructure (slowly) using organic methods.
We're a relaxed working couple, I'm a horse-rider (when I can!) and Neil is a keen surfer; so if you're interested in either of these past-times, we're happy to assist! (Please note, horses are not beginners horses).

About the host

Pam (50)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English

Last seen online
2 Years ago

I have been a farm girl all my life until I met a city boy! For the last 8 years I have been living in Auckland but have managed to hang on to my country heritage by buying a small lifestyle block. Unfortunately now I have a mortgage I have to work in the city to pay for it! I work in EdTech and have a background in education, planning and community development. I am passionate about environmental issues, conscious consumerism, intelligent conversation and good humour. Keen horse rider when I have the time (have 3 horses) and Neil, my partner is a passionate surfer. I love introducing people to the amazing place that is Waitakere and West Auckland.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

The accommodation would be suitable for a couple, and is a generous sized room that provides your own space when you need it, with a double bed. Wifi (good coverage) but cellphone coverage is only good with Vodafone. The beautiful Opanuku stream encircles the property and we are right beside walking tracks and close to cycle paths. The nearest town centre is Henderson, which has everything you would need, and is only 8kms from our house.

  • shared meals

We'll provide evening meal and lunch during the weekends (Saturday & Sunday). Self-catering breakfast, and lunch during weekdays.

  • no money is involved