Back to Top

Smallholding near Glasgow needs daily animal care help plus maintenance jobs.

World, Europe, England, Strathblane

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

7°C, 04:39

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We have an immediate vacancy on our 24 acre small holding on the edge of Glasgow. Beautiful rural location but only 7 miles from the centre of Glasgow!

Daily help taking o the responsibility of feeding, watering and mucking out our pigs and poultry (takes around 80 mins in the morning and 50 mins at dusk), general farm maintenance, help with some construction projects (polytunnel and geodome) and reinstating our large veg garden

In spring, autumn and winter it is often wet and muddy and some of the daily chores could be seen as monotonous. If you think you would embrace rather than endure this kind of life and are willing to stay for a minimum of 3-4 weeks then get in touch and I'll give you much more detailed information. We can accomodate 1-2 volunteers (couples or friends) sharing.

About the host

Gilian (46)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English

Last seen online
1 Months ago

David and I gave up the rat race eight years ago to set up a smallholding on land we owned with an ultimate goal to build a house there (we at last succeeded in 2015). David is a very very young 72 - a qualified architect he switched careers some time ago and set up and ran many successful businesses before retiring 5 years ago. Gillian is 46 and previously worked in retail management. We have no children, two collie dogs and we both have private pilot licences. We have a house packed full of books which we're happy to share during your stay and David is an absolute well of knowledge and experience who enjoys chatting with anyone who has dreams of farming, self sufficiency or aspirations to become rich grin

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

A very large upstairs room with it's own bathroom. There are two double beds in the room and although we often just have one volunteer at a time occasionally we will have two, so please be sure you are happy with the notion of sharing the room. The room is fully furnished and there's wi-fi and a TV. You're free to use the laundry, a small cosy lounge and a huge dining room where we spend a lot of our time. We also have two studies full of books you can borrow during your stay.

  • shared meals

Breakfast of cereal, porridge, poached eggs on toast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or "full scottish".
Lunch is usually soup and a sandwich with fruit, or some pasta
Dinner is always homemade, often using our own produce/ meat - our favourites are spaghetti bolognaise or carbonara, mince & potatoes, gammon steaks, fish in breadcrumbs, stir fry, fried rice dishes, macaroni cheese, ratattouille, lasagne, risotto, haggis etc...
We prefer you don't eat in your room.

  • no money is involved