Back to Top

Help with horses, dogs and DIY in Latvia

World, Europe, Latvia, Gulbene

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 6 volunteers

Last year I bought a 12 acre property in Latvia with swimming pond and old russian sauna. I live here with my 6 horses, 5 Spanish podencos and 2 cats. I ride my horses and also carriage drive with two of them and this year plan to get a dog rig and sled to learn with my dogs.

I am looking for someone who genuinely likes animals to help me do work around my property (renovation and general farm maintenance) and come carriage driving with me. Riding is also a possibility for really good riders but my horses are ex endurance horses so not for novices.

I have just rented some land of a neighbour and would like to collect my own hay from it using the horses. My intention is to learn how to do all types of farm work using the horses.

Where I live is only 10km to a good sized town and 4km to the nearest shop but very much in the countryside. There are endless forest and farm tracks to walk, ride, carriage drive or bike on and numerous lakes and rivers to swim and kayak. Summer in Latvia is amazing! And, if you like winter, that’s amazing too!

About the host

Katherine (38)

Host since

2021

Languages

English

Last seen online

4 months ago

I have owned and worked with horses my entire life and up until 2 years ago I trained endurance horses for FEI. Since Covid hit I have re-evaluated what is important in my life and moved to Latvia. I enjoy doing all things active involving animals and the countryside and want to make some kind of difference in the world. I have bought this property to give my animals as good a life as I possibly can and I have rented extra land locally with a plan of rescuing horses and training some of them to work on the land. I hope to eventually have enough knowledge to be able to travel the world providing education for people who have working equines to improve the quality of life for those equines.

If I am honest I am not very good at tolerating people who have no umph about them. I like people who are up for doing things and not just doing the bare minimum and then doing absolutely nothing and expecting me to motivate them. I do enjoy my chill time and don’t want to work like an idiot all day everyday but I do like work time to be productive.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared apartment, tent

I have a log cabin with shower room and open plan living space. Helpers sleep sleep in tents with camp beds and the cabin is a communal space. Helpers can use the swimming pond and Russian sauna (if they know how to use it

  • self catering

I am not a fan of cooking so I will leave that entirely to you

  • offering money for additional hours 

I would love to find someone who can take sole charge of my animals if I need to go away. If I find someone capable I will pay €10 per day for taking care of the animals and overseeing any other workawayers. On those days I wouldn’t expect a fixed 5 workaway hours plus the two paid hours but I would expect all the daily animal care to be done and anything else that required immediate attention. So basically some days might only be a couple of hours and other days something more pressing might crop up that could take all day eg. If an animals required a vet or if a fence was broken.