Back to Top

Help a family with childcare and learn Italian in Sicily

World, Europe, Italy, Chiaramonte Gulfi



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We are not looking for a nanny but a BIG SISTER for our son, a reliable and smiling girl who is able to inspire him and enrich him, in other words, a caring person we would like to welcome as a family member! For these reasons, we encourage a long stay.
You will always be free in the morning: you can sleep, go to gym or whatever you wish.
The help is needed in the afternoon and you will never work for more than 5 hours.
Weekends are always free. You can travel or spend your time with us.

Female (preferred) & English native speakers
No smokers
No Italian citizenship seekers. Sorry!
Family oriented
Has experience in teaching to children in order to help our son improving English and being more confident.
Has basic cooking skills (very basic!)
Not internet/mobile/social/TV addicted (at least, not when she has to spend her time with him)
Very talkative and energetic but calm at the same time
Loves playing with children and she is responsible
A tidy person who helps at home as a member of the family
Not a party girl (she doesn't go to bed too late)
Interested in languages and culture exchange
Interested in being part of our family.

We will give you REFERENCES FROM PREVIOUS VOLUNTEERS that we have hosted and we will ask you to give us references. We will put you in contact with previous helpers.

About the host

Serena (45)

Host since



Arabic, English, Italian

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

We are a family of three living in a village close to Ragusa: I am a 40 years old primary school teacher and teacher of Italian as a second language, my husband and our 8 years old boy who is the main reason why we are here.
Our son is a very energetic boy so, basically, he likes to do many different activities such as playing with Lego bricks (he builds his own world with Lego's), art crafts', board games, he's a good reader but he also enjoys listening to someone who reads for him (Pete the Cat books are his favourites right now!), just like outdoor activities (when the weather is nice) like swimming, playing football and riding his bike. He's very curious and eager to find out the mysteries of the world (dinosaurs, minerals and volcanoes and so on!). He can't play any instruments but he would love to, if the volunteer has a music skill and wishes to teach him.
Being an only child, he likes so much interacting with our volunteers, showing you his "world" and being engaged in some activities.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • child care / au pair

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Our apartment is not very big but you will be provided a private room with bed, sofa, cupboard, a small table and a tv
Bathroom will be shared
Free wi-fi
The family laptop (if needed)
Our collection of books in Italian, English and Arabic
Breakfast, lunch and dinner included/if we go somewhere you are welcome to come with us.
We live in the city center: everything you may need is at walking distance.

  • shared meals

You make your own breakfast. I make lunch and dinner for everyone.

  • no money is involved

We will give you an Italian sim card with credit and a small allowance every now and then.