Back to Top

Lifestyle property - 5 acres

World, Oceania, Australia, Lennox Head



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Have a comfortable spare room in a non-smoking home and can make available to someone wanting to chill in a great area as they pass through.
Located 5 mins drive from the beautiful beach of Lennox, 20 mins to Byron and 10 mins to Ballina.

I have 2 dogs (one medium size, one large) they sleep in the house and are the centre of my world. I take them for a daily walk/run on the dog beach mostly mornings at sunrise.

Seek 4-5 hours day/ 6 days a week of work doing all sorts of things [ from garden planting and maintenance | housework | cooking | handyman - carpentry skills, have some easy reno projects | marketing & biz skills also welcome ] and flexible in terms of on/off days. Exchange for full board | half board - whatever suits. BUT MUST love canine company.

On the biz\marketing side - social media skills, a graphic designer, am launching a start-up so have a huge amount of work at the computer too (anyone able to lighten that load will be very appreciated too).

I am there to help and support (just tell me what I can do to make your life easier) although my home-office work-loads sometimes get excessive - which is why I need the help to stay on top of things).

Basically looking for help to maintain and evolve the property, both interior and land/garden ... I can offer structured English lessons, I speak French fluently, "enfin comme une vache Espagnole"; and am a decent cook. I get around the area a bit and offer the occasional sight-seeing excursion. This is a very dynamic corner of Australia.

Can be short term or a longer short term, not fussed. Had people turn up for a week and ended up staying three months haha. But at least a week or should I say - take on the project you know you can finish as opposed to leaving in the middle of something uncompleted. Projects run from a day's work to a fortnight or longer.

I eat twice/day and will share the cooking of one meal/day x 5 (most of the staple foodstuffs are organic and rarely eat from a package or a can). You'd have to help yourself outside of my food schedule, from whatever is in the fridge.

Diets etc. we can discuss in advance ... I adapt to all. Do eat meat occasionally, but can switch it off at any time and do 100% vegetarian or vegan if that's your requirement (Note that the dogs do eat fresh meat, so if you have a meat phobia ...!)

I'm a big Permaculture fan - have most of the books, in fact, an extensive library on all subjects. Been a professional photographer (rock n'roll for a record company), children's literature publisher, business project development and new business consultant; and love having creativity around me. As a social entrepreneur most of my professional life, we are building a structure to see profits go back to society. Am currently working to launch Sponsity (more on that later - early days).

My work is quite demanding (from a home office) but get out as much as I can; do manage to enjoy a movie on Netflix most evenings (but no TV channel access). I hotspot my wifi and entertainment. Optus works well here, other networks just as well or better (depends on the rain and the way the wind is blowing).

Am fluent in French - but learning Spanish - so happy to exchange English/Spanish practice. Please email me if you want to know more.

About the host


Host since



English, French

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

Easiest is to look at my Linkedin Profile:

  • Email verified
  • Payment verified
  • Fast response
  • Experienced
  • Review received
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • eco projects
  • computer help
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

The room is not huge, but private and comfortable. Writing desk and chair. A bookshelf with English and French books; quite a few travel destination books too. Drawers and a place to hang clothes (plenty of coathangers) Double bed with great mattress, and an upper bunk single mattress if you prefer to be closer to the ceiling.
Share bathroom with me (no ensuite). Large shower, no bathtub.

  • shared meals

I will prepare lunch which is the main meal of the day (generally we'll do it together) and you can help yourself to breakfast and dinner if I don't feel like cooking.

  • no money is involved

I work under a straight barter, but sometimes I might be able to help you find paid work in the region. Depends on your skills and I cannot guarantee this either,

HOST 1 of 2416
  • Email verified
  • Payment verified
  • Fast response
  • Experienced
  • Review received
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified