Back to Top

To help children teach English. drawing, and games.

World, Africa, Tanzania, Dar es Salaam

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 6 volunteers

My name is Omary I'm 27 years old and here is my story. Maliasili is a slum area in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania and it is where I call my sweet home. Poverty has always been the biggest struggle in this neighborhood of about 500 adult residents. Who can change the situation?Our watoto ('children' in Swahili), our future.

About the host

Omary (28)

Host since

2019

Languages

English

My family has a land in Maliasili and we have built two small houses as our home there. In front of the houses, there is an empty space where I am planning to build a nursery for our children in the neighborhood. My team and I have already designed the classroom and calculated the costs in details. When the nursery is set up, we should be able to support early education for 50 children

Last seen online

5 months ago

I'm called omary chamuhuni I'm 27 years old with no wife and no child

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • elderly care
  • eco projects
  • charity work
  • art projects
  • computer help
  • internet support
  • child care / au pair
  • pet sitting
  • house sitting

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, shared room

All volunteers will stay at Omary's home where the project operates, Omary stays with his mom and young brothers and sister and he is the one help the whole family

Three meals will be served for volunteers if they will love to participate on cooking sometimes they are welcomed.

  • shared meals

  • offering money for all working hours 

for small things like preparing baby gifts for different purposes