Back to Top


World, Europe, France, Saint-Lon-les-Mines


You can't send a message to R, because the account is 'on hold'. This means that R does not want to receive any new offers at this time.

27°C, 02:44

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Large house, gite and huge garden owned by an elderly lady, requiring help to keep things ticking over and to do maintenance some renovations. We are set in a small peaceful village in with lovely views and yet within easy reach (by car) of the amazing beaches of Les Landes, Pays Basque, Spain and the vibrant cities of Dax (15 mins) Bayonne and Biarritz. We have a number of small and larger works to be done, for example converting two rooms into a self catering holiday accommodation with staircase kitchen and bathroom to be installed; change some lights, remove some water radiators, install new electric radiators, patching up ceilings, painting, clearing scrub, branches and weeds from the garden, tending to the vegetables, making fences, helping with the chickens, painting, decorating, installing insulation, repairs to roof (carpentry) and a whole list more ... eg. repair some rotten timbers in the gite roof and make some repairs to the main house roof and gulleys. We would welcome a visit from any tradesmen: electricians, plumbers, carpenters, builders, plasterers, gardeners etc and can surely find a job to suit you, large or small. Please note there are two friendly cats that lives here too and 4 chickens smile We have all the power tools necessary and if you are handy with a chainsaw or an axe we always need help making logs smile We have availability from October onwards 2016. If you have these skills and wish to stay in 2016, please contact us asap. smile

About the host


Host since



English, French

We are native English speakers and Mollie gets by in French and Rachel is fluent, if a little rusty. Rachel has also had some German lessons (a long time ago) :) We would like to improve our French very much.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

Hello, I am Mollie. I retired to France 16 years ago with my husband but due to ill health he has has to return to a care home in the UK, leaving me to manage our large house and grounds alone which is difficult sometimes. I do what I can but I don't drive and have an arthritic knee and my eyesight isn't what it was so its difficult sometimes. My daughter Rachel came to join me a year ago and she does a lot to help, but the jobs requiring a trade or heavy lifting she just can't do. She takes me shopping and for day trips and helps in the house and garden. We manage but there is much to do as when we bought the house it was a renovation project and was never fully finished !!! I love to paint and to cook and spend time with people to chat. I visit the UK when possible. The weather is lovely in this part of the world so its nice to just relax and enjoy the garden a little at my time of life. I also do a little bit of reading, knitting and sometimes even watch the TV or a movie.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private cottage

We have a lovely private cottage with a double bed. We supply free wifi, hot water and electricity. There is a DVD player, shower, outdoor patio and pergola, garden, living area/kitchen and it is fully furnished, nicely decorated and fully equipped with everything you will need for your stay.

  • self catering

We offer a fantastic holiday cottage to our volunteers and this is fully independent and on a self-catering basis. We supply electricity, hot water and you supply your own meals and gas for the cooker. The kitchen is fully equipped with microwave oven, washing mashine, fridge and freezer

  • no money is involved