Back to Top

Eden’s Yard needs Hospitalero

World, Europe, England, St austell



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Neal & Julia have a modest hostel in converted stables next to their country cottage. The hostel has 14 beds and runs from April to October each year. We are situated in a wooded valley on the edge of a quiet village close to the Eden Project, St Austell and the coastline of St Austell Bay.
Our volunteer has their own room in our cottage and is provided with food and a bicycle - there is also plenty of public transport, cycleways and footpaths in the area. Cornwall is a great place to explore with nature, history, culture, landscapes and an incredible coastline, safe swimming and other sporting opportunities.
Our volunteer helps out with all hostel duties including hosting, cleaning, laundry, harvesting fresh vegetables and fruit etc. and generally socialising with our guests. You would be part of a team and work flexibly around 5 hours a day for 5 days a week. On your days off, you can explore the delights of Cornwall and enjoy some local culture and hospitality. Whilst staying with us, you will have your own room in our cottage, sharing the house with us and our 2 housemates.
We usually have just one volunteer but will also consider a couple should they wish to share a room and the chores. We find it works best for volunteers and ourselves if you spend at least a 2 month period with us.

About the host


Host since




Julia is learning Spanish, but be gentle with her!

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

We are Neal and Julia and we too are travellers - when the backpackers closes, we travel. Previously I was an engineer and estates manager and Julia was a market researcher. We have both done many things, including raising 4 children between us. We like people, different cultures and share a passion for the environment and the outdoors. We enjoy everything that we do and love meeting people to share tales of adventure and intrigue - this is now our life!

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • tourist support
  • hostel support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, shared cottage

Our volunteer/volunteer couple will have a private room in our adjacent cottage together with shared use of the rest of the house and garden. You will also have use of a bicycle.

  • shared meals

We are a household of 5 when we have one volunteer. The household always eats together and often some of our guests join us as well. All tastes are catered for and all food requirements are met regularly with our guests.

  • no money is involved