Back to Top

Love horses? This is the place for you

World, Oceania, Australia, Geeveston


Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We live in Tasmania, the little island state of Australia. We're lucky to live in the Huon Valley, which is just gorgeous, on a 40 acre property. We run a tourism business with horse drawn carriages in historic Hobart, some 65kms away. We always need help with care and training of our fantastic team of horses. We will only take volunteers who are very experienced with horses thanks.

About the host



Host since



English, German

We are a couple who have a passion for horses. We moved to Tasmania in 2014 from Queensland. Sharon has two adult children and Steve has none. We're all on our own now, except for our horses! We enjoy showing Tasmania to travellers from all over the world.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • farming
  • tourist support
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 4 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

The room is in our house which is quite spacious. You will have your own bathroom and a living area.

  • shared meals

Breakfast is usually cereals with toast etc which you prepare yourself. Lunch is sandwiches - prepare yourself from what we have on hand. Dinner is prepared for you and shared (or if we are at work, left for you to heat up). We can cater for coeliacs but not vegetarians.

  • no money is involved

We may have extra work available at times and this will be paid work