Back to Top

Small horse stable and farm in rural Minnesota USA looking for help with day to day life on a farm.

World, North America, USA, Blooming Prairie

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Our farm:
I am a semi retired horse professional with very nice facility .
We live rural and have cows, chickens, pigs, dogs, cats and of course horses. This property has been in my husbands family for generations. He has both experience with crop farming and raising livestock. We are currently renting out most of our farm land. He owns and runs a businesses that is connected to raising live stock.
Over the years I have taught many people horse-back riding and horse husbandry. I have a life long back ground in training and competing with horses in dressage. I embrace natural horsemanship, and maintain my own horses feet as a barefoot trimmer.
I am Dutch and my husband is American.
We both enjoy meeting new people and sharing knowledge and experiences. you will live in our home and be part of the family.

We are looking for someone to help with normal day to day life on a farm. The perfect person loves animals in general, and has the desire to gain more horse knowledge and experience from this opportunity. Everything is small scale. Just a few horses, dogs, cats, cows, chickens and pigs. The necessary work load is not heavy but the time to explore and have fun is endless. You will help handle, feed and clean with an opportunity to learn how to ride.

One person can easily handle what needs to be done. We can accommodate 2 if it happens to work out that way.

If you really want to connect to a horse, it won't happen overnight. That is why require a 3 month minimum stay. Learning more about horses takes time. If you already are an experienced horse person we can discuss a different time frame.

About the host

Rosalyne

Host since

2018

Languages

English, Nederlands

Last seen online

We have been married since 2009. We enjoy interacting with other people. We don't mind sharing our beautiful house. We enjoy listening to your story and enjoy sharing ours. You will be invited to do things with us. Like going shopping, dinner, movie, fairs, parties family gatherings etc. when possible. But you should be able to entertain yourself as well. Minnesota is not know for its tourism. If there is something you want to do or see, we will try to accommodate.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

You will be staying with us in our home on the farm. You will have a bedroom and private bathroom (it does have a washer and dryer that I use). We have WIFI, Netflix and satellite TV. You will have a TV in your room, but you can use the one in the family room or living room too. We provide evening dinner, and you will have access to the kitchen to make breakfast and lunch. I will try to accommodate preferences in food as much as possible. Make sure to mention special needs. This is a no smoking household.

  • shared meals

You have the use of the kitchen to prepare food. Generally we eat dinner together.

  • no money is involved