Back to Top

Hobby farm with all the luxuries.

World, Oceania, Australia, Round Hill

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

overcast clouds
16.94°C, 18:58

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Hobby farm located in close proximity to Agnes Water / 1770 town and the southern Great Barrier Reef. This is the last surf beach going north and many say the nicest beach around.
Low set 4 bedroom house with a separate 2 bedroom high spec granny flat to be used for AirBnB. All rooms have A/C.
Looking for max 2 people (male or female) to help out around farm in exchange for room, breakfast and evening meal. No special dietary considerations catered for. ie. vegan / vegetarian.
Mineral swimming pool, Foxtel, NBN internet are all available.
Bon fires are a regular feature, as there is ample wood falling down.
Currently have 3 Labrador dogs, chickens and building a sty soon to get some little piggies, heaps of kangaroos and other native wildlife residing with us. Horses being moved end of August to make room for some cattle. (Looking for some Scottish Highland Coos to raise)
For those keen, we also take the boat to the reef when opportunity and weather allows. SUP`s and surf lessons are available.
Will require a few tasks each day, and these will be varied and ranging from a few minutes to a few hours. There will still be plenty of time for you to enjoy the surrounding region at your leisure.
Daren runs his own business, and loves to tinker around the farm or take the boat fishing in his spare time. He is also the cook, and loves to show off his culinary skills to hungry friends and guests.
Vicky is an engineer, and that requires her to work FI/FO for periods. When Vicky has spare time, she enjoys fishing trips, gardening, SUP`ing, and the simple farm life (away from the hectic life her work demands). Vicky has also commenced post-grad studies, that will require attention for some time to come.
We are both animal lovers, and the dogs are considered part of the family as we have no children. We are broad minded, and well travelled. We enjoy travelling to areas outside of our comfort zone though this has slowed with Daren starting a new business.
We plant a garden to supply fresh produce when time permits (a new larger & improved raised garden bed is under construction now), and collect free range eggs from our chickens (that make excellent cakes and great breakfasts). Hence the need for a helping pair of hands for the odd jobs.
To fit in with us, you must be honest, tidy, sociable and willing to give a hand when required. We would love to hear about where you are from and going to.
If you are still interested, get in contact and see if arrangements can be made.
Look forward to hearing from you.

About the host

Daren (50)

Host since

2018

Languages

English

Last seen online

Married professional couple. Love travelling and do it at every opportunity. Daren has a business in town, and Vic works away during the week. We love animals and that will be evidenced if you come. All animals are very well catered for and super friendly. We enjoy getting out to the reef when weather and time permits, but with having acreage, there seems to be always something that needs your attention. Laid back and open minded. Daren loves cooking and showing off his culinary skills. Vic does the baking of cakes.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

It is a big house and we only use one room. Planning on using granny flat for Air BnB if I get around to it. 3 spare rooms on house at one end, main is at other end of house. All have fans and air conditioning. Built in robes, and plenty of storage areas. Broadband Wi-Fi and cable TV available for use.

  • shared meals

Breakfast items are left to help yourself as we are often at work by the time you get up. Dinner will be supplied. No specific dietary needs catered for.

  • no money is involved

If you perform work for the business, then payment will be made for the hours done. If its maintenance and working around the farm, then no payment.