Back to Top

Island House and Garden Needs TLC: cleaning, gardening, carpentry

World, Caribbean, Puerto Rico, Vieques

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

28°C, 14:32

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

My aunt let me rent her home when I moved to Puerto Rico several years back. But the house had many leaks, a broken toilet and a roof that needs to be resealed. I had several different people come to stay at the house to do gardening and repairs and no one took the job seriously and left it in a bad way. I'm looking for someone who loves the Caribbean, loves gardening, has some experience with Carpentry, plumbing and minor construction, maybe even an electrician. The toilet in the master bathroom needs to be replaced, the roof resealed and the kitchen cabinets ripped out and replaced with something simple, maybe concrete, that can provide counterspace, and minimal storage in a small space. The house had nice which we got rid of and the place has been cleaned but a really deep deep clean of the kitchen would be great. I want to get rid of most of the furniture, and would like someone who could build simple table and chairs, and make the house functional and comfortable. The garden has lots of tropical plants, many of which need to be dug up and re-homed. I already repainted much of the inside of the house, but it needs a lots of TLC. I'm looking for someone who is skilled and cleaning, building and making a comfortable home. There is a king size bed in the master bedroom and ac. I am looking for someone who will do a trade for a place to stay, to live in the house and fix it up. I will cover costs of materials within a modest budget, lend a helping hand, and can provide transportation. I need someone who can commit to specific projects and a time frame and get the jobs done. The rest of the time you can hang out at the beaches, come to yoga at the resort where I teach, and enjoy beautiful vieques.

About the host

Adonito

Adonito (31)

Host since

2017

Languages

English, Spanish

Last seen online

2 Years ago

I am an herbalist, offer many types of plant ceremonies and teach yoga.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

The house has multiple bedrooms. The master bedroom is the most comfortable as it has an ac and king bed.

  • self catering

I can provide two meals a day from my work cafeteria. Will be able to cook in the house as well if you want to prepare your own meals

  • no money is involved