Back to Top

Come help in our 35yr old organic garden on mountain waterfall plateau west of Port Macquarie.

World, Oceania, Australia, Bulga Forest



Travel dates

27°C, 14:24

About the workproject

We need 3 volunteers

Our hand made home and gardens are set on the edge of a deep,rainforest river gorge which it is our pleasure to share with the adventurous. All aspects of food growing cooking preserving and sharing with our local community and their environmental projects is on our agenda. We are zoologists with a great love of biodiversity and in our remote forested home life is never boring. Your help will be warmly appreciated.

About the host



Host since




Last seen online

5 months ago

I have lived on the land here since 1980 and have built a four bedroom house and extensive caged gardens and raised 3 children who are now independent adults. I help manage our "sustainable living " project with my exhusband David and friend Sue who came as a helper before the 2019 bush fires, has stayed, and is currently building a bush cabin. We are open minded, social, collaborative people and lend our support to peaceful actions around critical environmental issues and projects in our local region and beyond. At the moment we are supporting the campaign which has a forest camp at the local Ellenborough Falls reserve and has maintained a tree-sit in the forest for over 50 days and is still stopping the wholesale destructive industrial logging of native wildlife habitat that is so inappropriate at this critical time of biodiversity loss and damaging climate change extremes.
We love having energetic and creative helpers in, to share our abundance of stimulating experience.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, cabin

There are 2 bedrooms in a wing off the main house verandah. One has a double bed and one has 2 single beds. There is also a sleeping cabin 150m below the house. House water is from big rainwater tanks and 3 dams above the house gravity feed irrigation water to the gardens and flush toilet.

  • shared meals

We have an abundance of fruit and vegies from the orchard and garden and eat muesli/ toast breakfasts, big garden salad or soup lunches and creative colaborative dinners that are delicious.

  • no money is involved