Back to Top

help wanted around cattle farm & machinery

World, Oceania, Australia, Mt fox

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

25°C, 22:19

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

I have recently had an ankle operation & we need help about the farm assisting John. We can handle 1 or 2 volunteers. We own approx.120 hectares of cleared land & yet to be cleared & planted with improved pasture land. We are surrounded by national parks & bush, therefore you can see plenty of wildlife, around & on our property. We raise & sell beef cattle. Grow some hay crops & bale it.Also we raise our own chooks & turkeys to eat. Have cats a dog & a couple of horses., as well as a long beaked Corella.
We have a bit of machinery to maintain & buildings & fences to maintain, our farm is a work in progress.. We are in the bush & hills south/west of Ingham, which is almost 1/2 way between Townsville & Cairns, Australia. It takes about 1 hour to drive to Ingham, the closest shops. Townsville is 2 1/2 hours s/e & Cairns 4 1/2 hours n/e. View our place & John on You tube or Facebook, depicting our area & some of John's metal art...;Farming Life Australia. Or John's Web page ; heavymetalzoo.com. Also at " The hinchinbrook Way " , click on videos, search 'The Art Of Farming' also ' Fishing for Inspirational Art.'
You can also see a lot of our surrounding district on this site.John plays a bit of banjo & guitar.
. We can't afford to pay wages, but do not expect too much work either, we treat our helpers as friends, not workers. Accommodation for our helpers is a basic old caravan with a double bed. No toilet, shower or cooking facilities. Only a kettle & toaster.You will come into our little house for all meals & to shower & use 1 of the 2 toilets at the house.We will soon have vacant a 3 bedroom house on another part of the farm, which helpers can stay in. We have Telstra phone reception & wifi at the home house, but only for emails etc, not for movies or large downloads, as we can't afford large downloads.

About the host

Patricia (60)

Host since
2017

Languages
English

Last seen online
5 Days ago

We have been married for 40 years & have had the farm for about 15 years. There is only the two of us on the farm. We have been clearing lantana covered regrowth land & planting cattle grass. Basically building a cattle property from scratch. There is still a lot we have to do with buildings & maintaining the property in general as well as machinery & cattle husbandry. Our little house is only basic, still in the building stages, but past being only water tight. We have an old caravan for helpers to sleep in. We are getting a bit frail as we have worked in very physical jobs, & therefore need some one whom is strong, willing & able to work under supervision. That was always me. Check out on you tube John's site Farming Life Australia,. Or John's Web page ; heavymetalzoo.com..
We have previously worked in the fishing industry both trawling & fishing. Also we had a 10 year stint in the aircraft industry building, selling & training in the ultralight side., as well as being manager in setting 4 microlight world records. We have helped build a number of fishing boats working with timber, steel, fiberglass then building a motor sail boat & travelling for 2 years along the Queensland coast before settling in this district. John has always been interested in a large variety of arts, but with his fine welding skills learnt through his aircraft welding skills he has found a real skill with his metal art sculptures which he does for a paying hobby. He also plays a bit of guitar & banjo.
We both are able to ride horses, although with our ailments we have not done this for a while, although John still works with them on ground skills.
We have both been members of pistol shooting clubs , but have not had time to persue it lately.
I am John's devoted off sider, keeping all our businesses running & the accountant happy. Also spending time in the vegi garden & fruit trees. We have been lucky that we work well together, most of the time.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private cottage, camper

At this stage an old caravan, or a 3 bed room house on another part of the property.

  • shared meals

All meals on the farm provided. Plenty to eat. You buy your own treats. eg. lollies, coke,alcohol.

  • no money is involved