Back to Top

Help us turn our former B&B into an organic and self sufficient meditation and personal growth centre. Algarve coast.

World, Europe, Portugal, Armação de Pêra

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

13°C, 18:40

About the workproject

We need 3 volunteers

We have a house and 1.5ha in Armacao de Pera, Algarve. We need help in turning this natural and beautiful environment into a meditation & personal growth centre. Some timber/Straw/cob/canvas/earthbag building (small, non load bearing structures) and land to fully appreciate. We'll be building composting toilets and showers with water recycling, turning a swimming pool into a yoga pavillion with a man-made stream. Building an organic vegetable garden using straw bale. We would also love some art features and artwork throughout the land. Build a huti for silent, personal retreats; an outdoor fire heated bathtub under the stars. Keeping ourselves and our provision as close to nature is key. In the winter months (November - March) we stay inside the house. In summer you may be inside or out camping on the land.

About the host

Deborah (53)

Host since
2016

Languages
English, Nederlands

Last seen online
1 Years ago

We're an English/Dutch couple (the pair at the front in the photo). I am a musician and Bart is a wedding & event DJ. We live a simple and centered life with our 4 dogs and lots of free range chickens. We aim to add more free range animals as we go on. We want to provide a space where people can come to reconnect with self and nature without dogma of any variety.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • art projects

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private apartment, shared apartment, tent

The building was a B&B and has 5 self contained apartments of various sizes. We live in one during the winter and we have 2 full time tennents in 2 others - that leaves 2 apartments available for helpers. We will agree your accommodation with you.

  • shared meals

We're not vegetarian and we just eat regular fresh foods of all varieties - Bart is a really good cook though smile

  • no money is involved