Back to Top

Worker for a permaculture seed farm

World, North America, Canada, Frelighsburg

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

-9°C, 14:42

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We are a new start up farm in Frelighsburg Quebec and are looking for a hand on the farm as we start up. We are working with Indigenous seed savers and gardeners to create a local and Indigenous seed bank for generations to come. We are at the very beginning of our adventure, the land has just been turned and we are excited to move forward. We are on a 260 acre farm with another farming family and are presently working on 3 acres of land. We have 2 kids and no animals (for now).

About the host

Teprine (40)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English, Spanish, French

Last seen online
4 Months ago

Jocelyn and Teprine have been together for 15 years. Jocelyn is a photographer www.leconsulat.ca and Teprine is starting a seed farm with Indigenous seed savers -www.lenoyau.com - has worked in community development, event organizing for permaculture events, environmental education and Indigenous activism. We have 2 great kids, Monroe 7 and Bowie 5 and they are bilingual and very social creatures.
We have no animals in the house but are getting chickens and guinea fowls this summer.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • eco projects

Expected workhours

  • 6 hours a day
  • 4 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

As of mid-May the hideaway bed in the basement is available for our worker. There is a door that can be closed but it is still where we have our freezer and washer/dryer. There is alot of space to have a tent outside if the worker needs some extra space for silence. They would have access to the rest of the house: kitchen, living room, jam space... but they have to be comfortable with children in the house, they add a new and wonderful dimension of life, sound and energy!!!

  • shared meals

We offer mostly vegetarian meals. We eat fish once a week and chicken every 2 weeks. We are able to provide mostly organic vegetarian meals if the person does not eat meat.

  • no money is involved