Back to Top

Tranquility Park

World, Oceania, Australia, Pomona

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

21°C, 05:42

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Six acres with amazing views, huge pool and renovated Queenslander style pole house.
I am a teacher of English as a second language. I am very patient and will help your English if you would like.
Most of the really hard work has been done by many Helpxers over several years. Now Tranquility Park is an airbnb, but will be partially closed for the Winter months to do some renovations.
This will include some painting, wood staining, high pressure hosing, gardening, weeding, planting, mowing. Out in the paddocks there will be first stacking and then burning off the fallen timber, fixing fence lines, brush cutting, chain sawing.
In our free time I'm happy to take you sight seeing in the local area. Noosa, Sunshine and Coolum Beaches are all about 30 minutes away. The Hinterland towns of Maleny, Montville and Mapleton are worth visiting and there are many beautiful walks in National Parks.
You must be happy to work outdoors if you come here. There are snakes, ticks, spiders, cane toads, water dragons, goannas....also the cute ones Wallabies, Kangaroos and green tree frogs. I'm 59 years old, I work outside every day...I'm still alive!
We work between four to six hours a day depending on the task.
If you love to cook, I'm happy to buy the ingredients for you. My cooking is basic, but you will have plenty.
We share the kitchen, dining area and sometimes the lounge. But I live in a separate pole house, just across the veranda.
The area is very beautiful and the house very comfortable with many sofas and open fire for Winter.
Please only apply if you are prepared to work hard, I do and I need help, which is why I'm writing this!! If you were happy here there is a possibility of minding the property while I go to visit relatives in Melbourne. This would mean minding the property and caring for the animals.

About the host

Sue (60)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English

Last seen online
5 Months ago

I have traveled extensively in the past. In 2012 I returned from living and working as a teacher of English as a second language in Brunei on Borneo. While living there I took the opportunity of traveling as much as possible. The above photo was taken in Tanzania, Maa land, just before we climbed El Donyolangai, an active volcano. Tough, but great fun! I left Borneo, returned to Oz, bought this property, returned to Victoria sold my old one and have been trying to 'finish' it ever since!! I love living here. Most of the helpers do too. I hope you'll love it. Jack the dog, Kamikaze the cat, Ginger and Pearl the chickens all wait to greet you!

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care
  • computer help
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, guest house

You will be accommodated in the main house which is used as an airbnb, where guests pay up to $150 pn to stay and you get it all for some hard and not so hard work. It is very comfortable, with an amazing view. Check out more information at airbnb.com 'Tranquility Park'.

  • shared meals

I have had many helpers over the years and I'm very flexible with meals. If you want to cook, that's great, if you want me to cook, you just have to smile when it's not great, but it won't kill you either!! If you and your partner would like to have a candle lit dinner on the deck alone, I don't mind that either!

  • no money is involved