Back to Top

Farmstay/Cafe/Pottery is looking for volunteers to learn, help and explore

World, Oceania, Australia, Dandry

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

19°C, 15:40

About the workproject

We need 7 volunteers

Hello,

We are Barkala Farmstay, a friendly & vibrant community, set up by a German family, who welcome you to the middle of the bush! Our large farm has cattle, horses, goats, chooks, sheep & heaps of native wildlife. We need help in all areas: cooking, cleaning, gardening, building, taking care of animals, harvest and more.

Barkala contains the famous Pilliga Pottery, a large and flourishing creative enterprise where you can help us creating, decorating and painting pottery in our large studio. We create our own clay, so if you want to, you can gain a complete understanding how pottery is made.

Besides this, we also have a couple of accommodations which can be rented by tourists as well as native gardens and an organic greenhouse. If you want to work in one of these areas, you are free to do so.

All our houses are with fabulous architecture-mud brick, straw bale, rammed earth and local timbers.

In your free time you can enjoy activities including, but not limited to: swimming in our pool, volleyball, learning country skills such as milking the cows and cheese-, bread-, butter- and sauerkraut making, bush-walking, bird-watching, pottery, artwork and music.

If you want to come, feel free to! We are open for everyone, including children, and pets are no problem either. However, you should take into account that there are several dogs on our property.

About the host

Maria And Regina

Maria And Regina (34)

Host since
2016

Speaks
German, English

Last seen online
2 Months ago

Our community has a wide spectrum of people, with the oldest being 60+ years old and the youngest being 1 year old. The core is made up of Maria who came here originally with Richard, her husband, who, however, no longer lives here, her Sons Bernhard and Johannes, and Johannes' wife, Regina. Permanent residents as well are Julie, the former governess of Bernhard and Johannes, Kai, Cathy and Cole, Petra, and Kimi. Besides these, there is a constantly changing group of volunteers here; the numbers vary, but you can be almost certain that there are other volunteers besides yourself.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • language practice
  • help in the house

Expected workhours

  • 6 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared cottage, shared room

There is one small cottage which is available for the volunteer(s) as well as a room in another private house. If there are many volunteers, one of the rented rooms is used as a shared room for the volunteers as well.

  • shared meals

All meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) are eaten together and are prepared in our cafe kitchen. If you want to eat something special, they are always open for suggestions! Special needs (e.g. allergies, vegetarian) can be taken into account.

  • no money is involved