Back to Top

Leanne (36)

World, Europe, England, Glasgow

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Do something your future self will appreciate

Volunteer since
2016

Speaks

I done French and German at high school so a little rusty but could pick it back up quickly. I also use sign language and makaton which helps with communication difficulties.

Last seen online
4 weeks ago

About me

Hello smile
I'm a petite lady with lots of colourful tattoos. I'm very much influenced by 50s/60s vintage style and love rock and roll.
I'm very outdoorsy and love climbing hills/mountains and mountain biking. Last year I also started yoga and Pilates and find this very relaxing.
When indoors I love to read...anything. Also quite studious and love researching things. My sister is very inspirational in my life. She is a wheelchair user and has inspired me to want to help others similar to her. She comes to my house in Glasgow once a month and we tend to go out for dinner and try new activities and go adventures. She's great company.
At the moment I'm hoping to take a year out and travel experiencing more cultures and learning new skills. Then I will return to full time studying to complete a degree in speech and language therapy.

Preferred location

I am hoping to travel worldwide and experience different cultures and adventures. There's no place in the world I wouldn't want to go smile

Skills

I would say my main skills include working with people with disabilities. I am trained in epilepsy, gastrostony feeding techniques, diabetes and well experienced with people with autism and deafblindness. I am a quick learner and keen to learn new skills including horticultural activities,

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I am an animal lover but allergic to cats, dogs and horses. I take antihistamines to combat this though so no worries.

Type of work I want to do

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • teaching projects
  • animal care
  • art projects
  • boat handlers
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • computer help
  • eco projects
  • elderly care
  • internet support
  • pet sitting
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, ... 21 moreJapan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Republic of, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Russian Federation

Europe

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, ... 43 moreCroatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Cyprus, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine

Africa

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, ... 46 moreChad, Comoros, Congo, Congo, Democratic Republic, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Caribbean

Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, ... 15 moreDominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Guyana, ... 5 moreParaguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

Oceania

Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, ... 9 moreNew Zealand, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

Middle East

Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, ... 5 moreQatar, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Central America

Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama

North America

Canada, Mexico, St Pierre and Miquelon, USA

More photos about me

Me and my sister Lauren :)
Me and my best friend on conic hill
Mountain biking in glenlivet
My very adventurous side :)