Back to Top

Ana (28)

World, Europe, Portugal, Lisbon

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

The secret of life is to know when to leave.

Volunteer since
2016

Speaks

Last seen online
more than 6 month ago

About me

I graduated in Social Education and just finished two courses, both specialized in Animal Assisted Therapy.
I made volunteering work in a school with young children from age 6 to 12, helping them to connect with each other and become more attached, roviding them the tools to work as a group in order to achieve the same goals.
I had also the oportunity to work in a Food Bank, helping separating the food given from the comunity and distributing it to people with severe socio-conomic needs.
I was a volunteer in a dog shelter in my hometown, for about 4 months. In that place, I used to clean the boxes and feed the dogs, but always tried to find some time to pet them and give them the attention and affection they deserve.
As an university student I worked with elderly people in a nursing home, promoting and developing physical, emotional, cognitive and creative skills through artistic activities which helped understanding the importance of the dialogue and the work in groups, improving the sense of belonging and the elfesteem, and helping to minimize the sense of isolation and loneliness.
I am very passionate about people and animals, and I believe in the benefits of the attachment between both species, since animals may provide moments of great comnfort, security, well-being, improvements in self-esteem, self-confidence, comunication among others, emotional regulation and also minimize feelings of isolation, loneliness, anxiety and stress I have a great passion in my life, which are people and animals, and all issues related to animals rights. I am a vegetarian for more than two years and I believe this is also a matter which can become a great presence in the discussions related to ethical and moral issues, not just because of the animals rights but also due to improving our health and helping not to explore so many sources of the planet Earth (water, millions of extensions of fields needed to produce this exaggerated massproduction of meet).
Since I was a child I love to travel, being able to visit London when I was only 12 years old, with my friends from school, I did couchsurfing in Budapest, Hungary, stayed in Italy for seven months, went to Scotland, as well as to Spain and many places in England and Portugal.
Therefore, and as I believe I have already seen many different realities but wish to be part of them in a more profound and active way, I hope I can have the oportunity, by working next to people that are already making the difference, to develop and establish contact with much more realities, entities and comunities, as well as to promote social politics and strategies, guided by values and principles based in each different intervention context.

Preferred location

I would like to be part of projects in which I may contribute to the community in a direct way , mostly related to animal welfare and people in a vulnerable condition and/or at risk of exclusion.
I wish to be a volunteer in countries like Switzerland, Sweden, Austria, Ireland, England, Finland, Croatia, Scotland, Norway, Iceland or Turkey.

Skills

I graduated in Social Education and just finished two courses, both specialized in Animal Assisted Therapy.
I believe I have a lot to offer to any place that accepts my application, since I believe I have good communication skills, I connect quickly to people who may have 8 to 80 years old and I also speak fluently Portuguese, English and Spanish.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I am a smoker, but I can live without it.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • animal care
  • charity work
  • elderly care
  • pet sitting

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

Austria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, ... 2 moreSwitzerland, Turkey

More photos about me