Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Live in the moment

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks

I can speak English fluently, read and write French, and I am learning German and Spanish.

Last seen online
more than 6 month ago

About me

I am a very athletic person and I love hiking, kayaking, boating, camping, swimming, soccer, horse-back riding, running, yoga, etc. I adore animals and for the longest time wanted to become a vet. Now I will be going to law school as I love social justice. I am also an artist and my favorite forms of art are acrylic painting, drawing and photography. I really enjoy school, especially math (I know, not very common) and english. I have always been involved with leadership roles including running multiple clubs at my high school I attended, such as an environment club and an anti-bullying club.

Preferred location

I would love to volunteer in France, especially Paris as I enjoy being in large cities. However, I am an avid traveler and will consider all opportunities in all countries.

Skills

I am from Vancouver, Canada, and I am very interested in becoming an au pair in France as I love working with children and want to improve my French conversational skills. However, I turn 18 in August 2016 and want to start au pairing in end of Janruary/ early February 2016. I have graduated high school early and this will be my only opportunity to take part in a program like this as I will be attending university in September 2016. Even though I am only 17 I have more experience and specialized training with children than most single adults.
I have copious amounts of experience working with children. I have been working at my cities Leisure Centre instructing childrens’ programs, such as birthday parties, a circus gym class, gymnastics classes, childrens’ art class, family nights, teen groups, summer camps and a drop off childcare program for parents wishing to go to the pool or gym alone, for over a year and a half. I am also a fully certified lifeguard and swimming instructor. I have a large amount of advanced first aid training. Additionally, I have worked alongside Simon Fraser University scientist, Dr. Kate Patten, with her Neuro Emotionally Literacy program with children.
I also spent a month in Peru last summer where I helped take care of local children. I have special child development course training called, High Five Child Development Certification, and I have my St.Johns babysitting course certification. On top of that, I have been tutoring children in science and math for several years. I also have many years of experience working with special needs children.
I take great interest in traveling and I especially love the French culture and language. I am hoping to gain more work experience with children and become fluent in French to help me with my future career in business law and politics.
As French is one of Canada's official languages, I have been taking French training for many years, however it was all based on reading and writing and not very much conversational skills. I am also learning German and Spanish.
I am also a straight A (95+ percentile) student and have taken high school courses teaching university level content so I am more than able to help with all homework and even tutor.
I am willing to work with all ages of children and any amount that you have. I myself have a younger sister who is entering the teenager stage so I am also willing to work with teens as well as infants. I am willing to help with all duties such as cooking, cleaning, laundry and taking care of pets.
I also have a lot of experience working with animals as I have been riding horses for over 10 years and have done work experience with a vet. I also volunteered in the Amazon for a month working on an environmental/conservation project and helping out Peru's first animal rescue centre.
The only reason why I will only be able to leave home late January/early February is that I have exams I need to finish. I may also be able to stay for the summer depending on how well the placement is going.
I have a full resume with a list of references I am willing to send families upon request.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • animal care
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • eco projects

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

France, Italy

More photos about me