Back to Top

Rebecca & Sam

World, Europe, England, Wokingham

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift which is why it’s called the present

Volunteer since
2018

Speaks
English
We have really very basic French and understand some written French which was learnt at high school. We are trying hard to pick up new Spanish but we speak hardly any right now. We are definitely willing to learn and trying to use new phrases.

Last seen online
6 Days ago

About me

Hi, we are Becky and Sam from UK. We are newly weds and are soon celebrating our 1 year anniversary. We realised there always more to life than the 9-5 (or 7-6 we were both working) and decided to leave our jobs and experience life whilst travelling the world. The time was right. The time is now! I am a trained primary teacher and Nanny and sam is a qualified accountant. We have a lot of experience gardening using gardening power tools etc. We renovated and landscapes our own garden a few years ago and also have worked for a gardening company between studies. We also have house maintenance experience although this has mainly been cosmetic; painting, filling holes, drilling etc but we are keen to learn new techniques and skills. We have both always had pets growing up; dogs, cats, tortoises, guinea pigs, ferrets, quails and rats to name a few. We are animal lovers and feel comfortable around them, although I’m still working on spiders and creepy crawlies!!! More recently we helped on an alpaca and llama ranch. Helping to feed, clean and sheer them. The farm also had goats,9 dogs, 1 cat, bearded dragons and endless numbers of chickens. We also put in a water irrigation system in the fruit orchard whilst volunteering there.
We both enjoy walking and investigating new places. We like to cycle on bikes also. We are fans of playing card and board games. Sam loves to watch football (soccer) the current World Cup is keeping him happy. I enjoy body balance and aerobics. I also enjoy knitting and am currently knitting a baby blanket to send home. We are keen to learn anything and would love the opportunity to help out!!

Skills

My husband and I are newly weds from the UK and have set off on an adventure for 9-10 months. We are hard working and keen to learn new skills and languages. I am trained as a primary teacher and more recently a nanny to two school aged children. My husband Sam is a qualified accountant but has previously worked in childcare. We both have experience in gardening and general house maintenance. We have both grown up with animals and have pet sitting experiences for cats, dogs, tortoises and many more. We don’t want to just travel the world we want to gain valuable experiences along the way!

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Non smokers. Both have driving licenses. No allergies to food or other.

Type of work I want to do

  • animal care
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • construction
  • farming
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • house sitting
  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • pet sitting

Where I want to volunteer

South America

Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

Oceania

New Zealand

Central America

Costa Rica, Panama

Travel dates

More photos about me