Back to Top

Gerhardt (58) & Aileen (57)

World, Africa, South Africa, Amanzimtoti

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks
Afrikaans, English
Learning Spanish

Last seen online
50 Years ago

About me

We are both very healthy and lively people.
We are Christians, honest and very reliable. We have 3 daughters, a few grandchildren, all living in various parts of the world.
Growing up along the coastal town of Amanzimtoti we have a huge love for the ocean and try to be as close to it as much as possible. Although we don't surf anymore we still love the sport immensely.
While Aileen loves adrenalin sports like sky diving and bungee jumping, I prefer to fish from the shore of the ocean.
We love to travel, meet new people and enlighten them to our culture and to learn about theirs in return.

Preferred location

We are semi-retired fulfilling our life long dream of experiencing as many different cultures and countries as we can.
South and Central America has always appealed to us and therefore we started our journey here. The first country being Ecuador.
We pray our travels will bring us to you and we may share in our cultures and traditions.
We mlook forward to meeting you.

Skills

Gerhardt;
I am by trade a motor mechanic - I learnt my skills in the days when it was imperative to be able to work on any car, petrol or diesel, even farming equipment and trucks.
Any sort of building maintenance - I am a very hands on person with the ability to fix almost anything from cars to vacuum cleaners to shelving to plumbing and any other odd maintenance problems.
I have a vast amount of IT (software and hardware) experience
I have also worked in the F & B industry as well and can also therefore assist with stock, point of sale and kitchen matters.
Aileen;
I am a bookkeeper by profession. Also a competent Administration Manager. I can do anything from answer the phone to trial balance.
I am a self published author of four novels as well a few short stories. A few of these have won awards.
I am currently writing a screenplay for my first novel "Changes From a Sunset"
Having an interest in a restaurant at one stage, I learnt a great deal in client liaison, stock and of course front desk.
I am also very apt with social media, Facebook, Twitter etc, running my own sites as well as those for our Church.
http://aileenfriedman.co.za
https://www.facebook.com/groups/353447231333743/
https://www.facebook.com/SomersetWestChurchofChrist
https://www.facebook.com/SomersetWestSchoolofPreaching
We both completed a TEFL online course this year.
As we have both been involved in so many areas of expertise throughout our lives we have a vast amount of experience in so many fields individually and jointly.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

We are very healthy eaters that love to eat fresh unprocessed foods. We love to buy our fruit & veggies directly from markets wherever possible. I make a mean curry!

Type of work I want to do

  • construction
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • maintenance tasks
  • teaching projects
  • computer help

Where I want to volunteer

South America

Colombia

Central America

Belize