Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Never stop noticing the world's beauty. It is all too precious to miss out on.

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks

I do understand both German and French, but speaking these languages has always been hard for me. I do believe, however, that when I am somewhere where I need to speak the language, I will pick it up pretty quickly

Last seen online
1 months ago

About me

My name is Sophie Bergmeijer. I was born in February 1998. By the end of May 2016 I will have graduated from high school in the Netherlands. For a few years I have been thinking about what I want to do after my graduation and traveling was my number one choice.
For as long as I can remember I have wanted to communicate with people and help them in any way I can.
My hobbies are theatre (I've been in a school for dramatic arts for children and adolescents for about nine years now and I would love to go to the official academy for dramatic arts someday), music (I love playing the piano, the guitar and singing, but listening to music is great as well!) and reading and writing (I love communication!).
The best feeling in the world to me, is the feeling of creating something together, whether that would be a story, music or a physical thing, like a clean house or a beautiful garden. I am very ambitious when it comes to things I care about.
I was brought up in an amazing family with great parents and a lovely sister. I love my family and friends and in my opinion it would be amazing to pass on the safety and support I have been offered by my loved ones to others who need it.
I am very motivated to help out anyone with even the smallest things and to see the world during that process.
I love people and I love stories and I would be honoured to hear yours!

Preferred location

I want to see the world, which means I would be happy to go anywhere. I want to have as many international experiences as possible. Even the countries I didn't select would interest me. The only condition for me going there would be the safety, since I am a girl and (only) eighteen years old.

Skills

I will graduate from high school this May and after that I want to see as much of the world as possible.
I've always been interested in people and communication, which is why I would love to help in the house, practice languages, take part in child or elderly care.
Also I love music, theatre and all other forms of art, which is why I think it would be amazing to do art projects. Furthermore, I have always been interested in helping people in any way I can. I am a personal tutor for people in my high school and I help them out with any problems they might have with learning both the English and the Dutch language and I have discovered I really like doing that a lot! This is why I would love to teach.
Lastly, as I said, I have always been interested in helping people, so doing charity work to help others would be amazing as well!

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I don't eat meat (including poultry), but fish is definitely okay! Apart from that I am lactose intolerant, but this is a very mild allergy. It simply means I shouldn't eat lots of cream, cheese or other dairy products, but in small amounts there is really no problem.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • elderly care

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, ... 2 morePhilippines, Thailand

Europe

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, ... 12 moreGreece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Northern Cyprus, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Wales

Caribbean

Bahamas, Netherlands Antilles

South America

Brazil, Suriname

Oceania

New Zealand

Central America

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua

North America

Canada, USA

More photos about me

A photo made last summer by one of my best friends
Me just being very happy
With a guitar
Making music with my boyfriend
A play I was in a few years ago
Just because I have the most amazing friends
The play I was in last year