Back to Top

Merel (26)

World, Europe, Netherlands, Andel

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

You're equally beautiful as the universe | Be bamboo

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
English, Spanish, French, Nederlands, Thai
Dutch: Mother tongue English: Advanced French: I was very good in French when I was in high-school, unfortunately this is a long time ago already, but I still understand a lot when I read French or when people talk to me. Spanish: I worked in Mexico for 6 months, serving hamburgers in a restaurant. So I can tell you anything about hamburgers in Spanish. I would love to learn more! Thai: As I lived in Thailand I learned some Thai and I feel really passionate about it! I just started to read and write Thai as well!

Last seen online
2 Months ago

About me

Hi!
I'm Merel from the Netherlands. I am a creative person and I admire other cultures and languages. The most important thing during traveling is for me learning about the local culture and the language and immersing myself into it. I studied Graphic Design, have a TEFL-certificate (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and my dad taught me how to paint professionally. I like going outdoors and go hiking, kayaking, climbing etc.

Preferred location

Everywhere! The world is beautiful. At the moment I am travelling in Asia so it would be great to find something there.

Skills

Graphic Design:
I have a degree in Graphic Design. I'm experienced in designing corporate identity, packaging, illustrations, websites, advertisement and conceptual thinking.
Teaching English or Dutch:
I have a TEFL-certificate (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and experience teaching in an elementary school in Thailand. I really enjoy teaching English!
Painting:
My dad is a professional painter and he taught me everything. We worked together for 3 years. I can paint walls, window frames, doors etc. Repairing too!
Artistic work:
As a graphic designer I of course am a creative person! I love to illustrate, to paint, to model, basically I just really love to create! I also make wooden jewellery and paint it by hand.
Tourist support:
I love to meet new people from all over the world and I'm not afraid of speaking in front of big groups. I love talking and explaining about culture and showing people around to teach them something.
I used to have a kayak at home back in the Netherlands. So I would be very excited to do kayaking tours as well!
Kids:
I really really love kids, play with them, learn from them, teach them.
Pet sitting:
Cats please!

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I'm not vegetarian but I really love vegetarian food and I wouldn't mind skipping meat at all! smile I absolutely don't smoke.

  • Payment verified
  • Slow response
  • Review received
  • Experienced
  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified

Type of work I want to do

  • art projects
  • computer help
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • pet sitting
  • teaching projects
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, ... 8 moreMongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Viet Nam

Europe

Albania, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Norway, ... 3 morePortugal, Spain, Sweden

Travel dates

More photos about me

ASEAN day at the school I was teaching at in Thailand
Norway 2008. I love nature!
Mini me, really nothing has changed I believe.
  • Payment verified
  • Slow response
  • Review received
  • Experienced
  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified