Back to Top

Emily

World, North America, USA, Brattleboro

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Do something good today.

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
English, French

Last seen online
4 Months ago

About me

I am interested in travel. I also enjoy playing soccer, and ice hockey. I love to draw, and every now and then play music and sing, on occasion. I really would love to spend my gap year being productive and gaining more knowledge and insight.

Preferred location

I am a recent high school graduate, class of 2017. I originally planned on taking a gap year, and then going to a university in the fall of next year. I have decided I would enjoy doing something productive during my year off, instead of just working full-time.
I have maintained the same job throughout high school since the age of 15. I am currently still employed at that location. I work at a small deli/café. I prepare food, serve, work as a cashier, wash dishes, and organize and stock inventory. There is not one single job, rather a small amount of tasks that you must have the capability to perform all. I also have been involved in childcare, house and pet sitting for locals in my community, as well as family friends. Throughout high school I spent some time completing my community service through childcare opportunities, as well as in an office for a philanthropy program/office, interning World Learning, a college here in the states.
During the summer of 2016, I participated in a study abroad program for high school students. I traveled to Jordan, within the Middle East. I stayed for around 4.5 weeks. There, I studied Arabic, traveled throughout Jordan, visiting places such as Petra, the Dead Sea, the Jordan River, a Syrian Refugee camp bordering Syria. There, we were given the opportunity to interact with the refugees, learn about their living siuations, and teach the kids some basic English songs and phrases. It was an incredible opportunity that changed my life, and made me eager to see more of the world.

Skills

As mentioned before, I have experience in the food service, little experience in the office, dealing with more electronic files and organization projects, as well as house, and pet sitting, and childcare.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • hostel support
  • house sitting
  • pet sitting
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

England, France, Germany, Spain, Wales

Travel dates

More photos about me