Back to Top

Beth (27) & Sam (28)

World, Europe, England, London

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks
English

Preferred location

Me and my boyfriend are currently working on a permaculture farm near Santa Cruz, CA. We've had an awesome time but as the seasons change most of the other volunteers have left to winter over elsewhere. We're in the U.S for another month until we fly to Thailand from San Francisco on the 30th November, so we'd like to find somewhere to work for a few weeks in that area, to meet some more like minded people and learn more before we continue our travels in Asia smile

Skills

I (Beth) worked as a fundraiser/fundraising manager for several charities in the UK including international development, homeless and wildlife charities for a few years, so I'm very comfortable working with the public. I've worked behind a couple of bars so also have some hospitality experience. I once taught basic English and maths to a class of adorable kids in Tanzania for a few months as well smile
Sam worked in the music industry so plays various instruments, has lots of hospitality experience from looking after artists, as well as having technical knowledge of running a recording studio. He's really good with computers, as well as teaching people how to use them/solving internet issues.
Aside from actual work experience, we love to cook, walking in the great outdoors, and being around animals, especially cats! smile
Although we're still new to the world of organic farming we've been doing a really interesting variety of jobs here, including planting/transplanting trees and seedlings, watering and composting, harvesting, pruning, terracing, laying water pipes, managing fresh produce and lots of cooking.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • animal care
  • computer help
  • internet support
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam

North America

USA

More photos about me

Sam with Jaguar Paw!