Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Life isn't about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
English, Croatian, Serbian
I am fluent in English. My native language is Bosnian but Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian is very similar so I can understand/read/write any. I've attended a brief course of French, German and Turkish so I know the basics. I've also spent 3 months in Turkey so I'm most familiar with it.

About me

I'm a 19 year old girl from Bosnia and Herzegovina. Growing up in such a small country made me realize how the world is too big not to discover all the beauties in it so I'm very passionate about travelling. Volunteering abroad seems like a great opportunity because I get to travel while serving a purpose and getting to know the country as a local. Having two sisters, family values are very important to me and I'd be very happy to expand my family by meeting new people abroad! I've attended an AFS exchange in Turkey where I was living with my host family of parents and two lovely girls, who I still keep in touch with because they were a big part of my experience. I enjoy spending time with people since I believe everyone has something different to share or teach! I especially enjoy meeting new people with different experiences and backgrounds. smile Cooking is a great passion of mine and so I'd be glad to learn recipes from all over the world and share some of mine. smile As for other hobbies, hiking is what I turn to when in need of peace and relaxation. Even though I'm not very talented, painting is another love of mine. smile Probably the biggest one though is my love for animals, dogs above all. I enjoying helping stray dogs so that is one of the few volunteering activities I do here in my hometown. Even though I don't have much free time due to college (i'm an economics student) I like to spend it with friends, watching movies or reading. I consider life to have plenty to offer and it is up to us to take most of it!

Preferred location

I would like to do my best as a volunteer in the countries selected. I'm looking forward to meeting new people and their culture and lifestyle.

Skills

I am from Bosnia but I'm a fluent English speaker due to various cartoons as a child and later on an international elementary and high school education. Now also college! I'd be happy to share my knowledge of English with anyone willing to learn! Throughout my high school education I've also attended a brief French, Turkish and German language class due to my passion for languages so I'd be very willing to learn one while on my trip abroad. Growing up as a youngest child I didn't have a chance to take care of kids (mostly I was the one being taken care of) but a while ago I was an exchange student with a family of two young girls and I consider it one of the best experiences! Now I also view them as two of my younger sisters even though we don't share a continent! As a proud owner of 3 dogs and 2 cats I'm very fond of animals and thus would be glad to participate in such volunteering aswell. smile I come from a household of 6 people and as crowded as it gets, it helped with teamwork around the house which is another thing I'm used to. Also I'm very passionate about acquiring new skills and experience so I'm open to other volunteering opportunities as long as I'm given an option to learn while making lifelong friends and memories!

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • animal care
  • art projects
  • charity work
  • child care / au pair
  • elderly care
  • help in the house
  • hostel support
  • house sitting
  • language practice
  • pet sitting
  • teaching projects
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

Austria, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, ... 11 moreMonaco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Wales

More photos about me