Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

Volunteer since
2017

Speaks
German, English, Croatian, Slovenian, Serbian

About me

Greetings!
My name is Alexander, but you can call me Alex. Well, my mom and dad always told me I'm special so I came to believe it. Currently I'm a PhD candidate at the City University of Hong Kong, and I have a BA in English and German language and literature, and an MA in English and American literature. Apart from that I'm an avid hiker, traveler, adventurer, writer, martial artist, tattoo enthusiast, educated cook, and sometimes I even sleep. Before venturing into civilization I spent my childhood on the far coast of an island in the Adriatic Sea with my grandparents. There I developed my imagination, as well as many survival and outdoors skills, and not to mention taking care of a house.

Preferred location

As an avid traveler and adventurer I wish to see as much of the world as possible. There is no place I would not wish to go, and no place I could not make my home for as long as it allows me. Though I have lived most of my life in Europe and have traveled throughout the continent extensively, my path has now led me to Hong Kong. From this bustling city-state I expand my horizons, travels, and adventures.

Skills

The 3 word BIO: Writer, scholar, adventurer.
The long version: I am an avid fiction writer, columnist, playwright and sometimes poet. My biggest passion is the wide open road and seeking adventures therein. I love to travel as much as possible, hike whenever I can, train and work. Currently in Hong Kong finishing my PhD in English literature. I have been an tutor and professor of the English language for many years, also fluent and educated in German (BA). As a child I lived on the far coast of an island with only my grandparents, and there I learned to tend to the house and surroundings. I can boast a decent green thumb, as well as advanced survival skills, basic to advanced carpentering, hunting, anything involving a boat and the sea, and I can hold my own in terms of life in general. Apart from that I am an educated cook, martial artist, music lover, tattoo aficionado, and I always wanted to learn to play the flute.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, don't have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • construction
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • art projects
  • child care / au pair
  • tourist support

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Bangladesh, Bhutan, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Republic of, ... 14 moreMalaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Europe

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, ... 18 moreFaroe Islands, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Macedonia, Moldova, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine

Africa

Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, ... 16 moreGuinea, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Caribbean

Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, ... 2 morePuerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, ... 1 moreVenezuela

Oceania

Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, ... 9 moreNew Zealand, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

Middle East

Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Kuwait, Lebanon, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates

Central America

Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama

North America

Canada