Back to Top

Michael (68)

World, North America, USA, West Palm Beach

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

The simplest things in life bring the greatest pleasures.

Volunteer since
2015

Speaks
English
I am quick to pick up enough of the local language to get by. I have traveled extensively and have always gotten by.

About me

My life has been on a different and pleasantly unusual road that I have thoroughly enjoyed and learned life by. I grew up in Florida and was in the US Air Force during the Vietnam years. I went to Syracuse University and soon followed in my uncle and fathers footsteps and became a funeral director (mortician) owning a business of my own. Some might look at that a morbid job but it taught me about life and death and made me embrace life to its fullest. I then spent several years as a performer/entertainer as an escape artist, yes just like Harry Houdini. I retired after performing throughout the U.S. for 15 years. I moved to Pescadero, Baja Mexico in 2013 where I built a palapa style house in what I called paradise. On 14 Sept. 2013 my home was hit by category 4, 130 mph hurricane Odile which destroyed part of my home. I was rebuilding when in Dec. of the same year my home was completely destroyed by a fire which was caused by a neighbor burning hurricane refuse. I lost everything I had. I decided at that time to travel and see the world so I have outfitted a touring bike and am currently touring the world starting in Beijing, China in Aug. 2015. I am going everywhere and attempting to learn as much about life, the world and myself as possible. I am a hard worker happy with all house duties, gardening and farming plus willing to learn about most anything. I am neat, orderly, clean a non smoker and a light social drinker. I am respectful of your time and property.
I am seeking work for longer than a month and have no problem with long term.
Do not let my age discourage you. I have the working capabilities of a much younger person but with the maturity, disipline and experience that only comes with age. I am a positive, laid back, easy going person. Ok with children and animals.
I appreciate your consideration.

Preferred location

I am currently bicycle touring and plan to travel around the entire world for an indefinite period. I have simplified my life, sold my possessions and plan to seek work anywhere in the world arriving there by bike or air travel. I am able to travel anywhere at a moments notice and have practically no limits to location or circumstances.

Skills

I am good with any aspect of cooking and home duties, and would be invaluable working in a farming/harvesting/gardening situation. I am a hard worker. I was a medic and a physicians assistant in the Air Force for 7 years so I have more than basic knowledge of emergency medical care.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

I am very health and in excellent medical physical and mental condition. I have no chronic medical problems and am taking no medications. Even though I am not a vegetarian I can go that route if you prefer.

Type of work I want to do

  • farming
  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects

Where I want to volunteer

Asia

Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Korea, Republic of, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal, ... 5 morePhilippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Europe

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, ... 6 moreMalta, Northern Cyprus, Northern Ireland, Romania, Serbia, Spain

Caribbean

Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, ... 7 moreHaiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, St Kitts & Nevis, US Virgin Islands

South America

Argentina, Ecuador, Peru

Oceania

Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, ... 1 morePalau

Central America

Belize, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Panama

More photos about me

My recent travels through China
My bike touring look.
Key West, Florida
Shopping for bike supplies in China. Always a happy experien
 Hanoi coffee shop
Vietnam biking.