Back to Top

Project dates

Work to be done

Your accommodation

A life not examined is a life not worth living.

Volunteer since
2016

Speaks
English, Serbian
I understand French and can have a conversation in it, however i am not good at grammar.

About me

I am 19 years old, my birthday is on the 27th of February, i finished high school almost 2 years ago, and have since been studying philosophy.
I've always had a love of the written word, since i was a little kid it was a point of passion and pride for me to memorize lyrics to songs, poems and quotes from books, and it hasn't stopped or slowed down, what i have learned from my previous studies of philosophy is that the application of ethics and logic in real life is more important simply thinking about it, and i feel i have been doing that with success in my local area, but at this point i'm looking to make bigger changes, make new friends and experience other countries.
My past volunteer experience includes 5 years in ONAuBiH(Youth press association in Bosnia and Herzegowina), 3 years in ASuBiH(Association of high-school students in Bosnia and Herzegowina) 3 years in Motus Adulescenti, another youth-powered local NGO, 3 years in "Be a man club"- my current project whose title we interpret in a unique way: be a man- forgive: be a man- buy a condom: be a man- show your feelings etc.
I have worked on the local radio station RTV IS on two occasion, first leading a children's quiz show "Klin-tin 057", and later along with the aforementioned "ONAuBiH" team a show about young people, their talents, problems and stories called "Perspective", those two combine to give me about 60 shows- 90 hours of airtime, and i assume about 200 hours of preparation and editing.
Since 2011 i have volunteered as a translator and tour guide to people arriving to preform, or promote their creations at the annual puppeteer festival, films festival and documentary festivals in the culture center in East Sarajevo.
My experience in the NGO sector is unparalleled by any of my peers, there are honestly too many projects i have been a part of to name in an orderly manner, ergo for further information on my history in this area i would like to receive questions and answer them rather than emphasizing a particular set of projects.

Skills

I have organized and micromanaged multiple charitable events for socially endangered people in my local area, i also volunteered in my local high school for 2 months, surveying the awareness of young people on the issues of gender violence, substance abuse and critical thinking, and having their views in mind i conducted 25 courses in 7 different classes on those topics, i study philosophy and charity work is deeply important and intertwined with my core beliefs.
Healthy introspection, sound argumentation and virtue theory are skill i have proven to myself and others that i can pass on, i am the team leader of the "Care International" "Be a man" project in my city of East Sarajevo, and am very proud of the work we have done in the past two years, and the vision and imagination of my younger teammates, which i like to think i had some role in releasing.
I can cook, i speak Serbian, English, and a little bit of French, i am "handy" at fixing IT problems.

Additional info

I am not a smoker, I have a drivers license, I am not a vegetarian and I have no allergies.

Type of work I want to do

  • help in the house
  • language practice
  • teaching projects
  • charity work
  • computer help
  • internet support

Where I want to volunteer

Europe

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Serbia, Spain, Sweden