Back to Top

Light domestic help and companionship for well traveled elderly lady in a converted farmhouse centrally located in the Algarve , Portugal

World, Europe, Portugal, Guia

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

12°C, 04:43

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Lady sought for some light help around the house, putting pellets in the fire, meal preparation, some driving (valid Eu driving licence required) and shopping trips and companionship playing games etc for about four hours a day over the winter months in exchange for accommodation and board in a converted farmhouse centrally located in the Algarve in a big private plot of land of over 1 hectare of fig and almond trees. Its a great spot and a host in her nineties is in full possession of all faculties and with busy family close by.

About the host

Bijou

Bijou (19)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English, French, Portuguese

Last seen online
5 Months ago

We have lived in the Algarve for over 40 years. Mum is French although culturally more English after a lifetime with my English dad. She loves playing games such as rummykub and scrabble and doing crosswords and watching documentaries and films. Food is simple but wholesome and more chicken, fish and vegetable based. No heavy cleaning to do as there is a weekly cleaner so just washing up and keeping your room up to date. Its an easy nice place to be, although maybe a little calm as it is in the countryside within walking distance to the village and would suit a self contained type of person who enjoys quiet pursuits and of course there is internet. You can join a group of local walkers whilst it is still cool weather and a bicycle is available.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • help in the house

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Own large Bedroom with good sized terrace and shower bathroom upstairs in Farmhouse

  • shared meals

You would be responsible to prepare light lunch and evening salad tray and would have your main lunch meal with us and use of the kitchen whenever you like.

  • no money is involved