Back to Top

Coastal family home needs help with house, child and garden work.

World, Europe, Ireland, Castletownbere

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

3°C, 16:46

About the workproject

We need 3 volunteers

If you would like to spend some time in one of the most beautiful parts on the south-west coast of Ireland, why not join our small but busy family. We live in an old Irish cottage on the waters edge of the Beara peninsula, at the foot of Hungry Hill. OUr family is quite water orientated, we like to swim, sail, windsurf, kayak, snorkel etc. we also like to hill walk and cycle, or just hang out around a fire on the shore.

I am an artist blacksmith,and try to involve my children in sculpting wood and metal, we also have a pottery wheel, a wood lathe and like arts and crafts.

We are looking for someone top help with housework, childminding/participating in recreational activities, gardening etc.We are mainly looking for someone to spend time with our twelve year old daughter Jessie after school, and also house and garden work. I myself mostly work at home and will be around to help if needed.
My wife and I are separated, but are on goods terms. She lives about 12km away and has the children every second week. In the week the children are with me the focus would be mostly on them and a little housework, in the week the children are with their mother the focus would be on house and garden work. We are quite flexible with our hours each day, which would mean trying to create a lot of free hours on the days with sunshine. The weather is something to consider in Ireland, it is not always good, but if it is good, there is no place like it.
If you like watersports and the sea it would be an advantage, because on our yacht a helping hand is always welcome, no experience necessary. Help would be welcome from the start of April. One thing to consider is our secluded location, with our nearest neighbour 1km away, and the town 12km away. We have no public transport but I frequently visit the town (almost daily) we also have bikes available. The town is full of cafes and pubs (one pub just won pub of the year 2016) there are also galleries, dance groups, a meditation centre, poetry evenings, etc.

To sum us up, we are a lovely little family living in a nice house on the seashore in beautiful Bantry Bay. A little remote, but with beautiful views, great outdoor life, and in good weather, its heaven.

About the host

Ryan (53)

Host since
2016

Speaks
German, English

Last seen online
10 Months ago

I am a father of two daughters aged 16 and 12, our family speak German fluently, although at home we mostly speak English. My youngest daughter is a very lively, happy and enthusiastic child, she enjoys arts and crafts very much, as well as reading and music. She is very outgoing and loves to have friends over and walking the dog. Due to her down syndrome she needs a little extra support with her homework, etc .Both my daughters are very easygoing and helpful too.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • child care / au pair

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Private room, detached from house, with beautiful view overlooking the ocean

  • shared meals

All meals included.

  • no money is involved