Back to Top

5 acre plot of fruit and nut trees, on the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada mountains, Spain with stunning views

World, Europe, Spain, Lanjarón

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

13°C, 20:42

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Mike & Jane have a house and 5 acres of land on the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada mountains. We live there for about half of the year. We think it is a wonderful place, with views of the mountains and the sea, a place for lovers of the mountains and nature (we are half an hour drive from the nearest shops or bar). We have our own springs for water, generate power from solar and wind, have lots of trees and try to grow our own vegetables.

We are both International Mountain Leaders, and love walking in the mountains and sharing our knowledge of the Sierra Nevada and Alpujarra with others.

Our house and land could do with a bit more 'tender love and care'. The land needs lots of clearing and fences building, and the older part of the house needs some repair work both inside and out. We would really like some help with any of these. In return, we can offer a room in the newer house, walks in the mountains, good food and time to relax and enjoy the view. We could also arrange a trip to Granada to visit the Alhambra or a dip in the sea.

About the host

Mike & Jane (61)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English

Last seen online
9 Months ago

We are married and work as International Mountain Leaders, spending around half our time in Spain, the rest in the Derbyshire Peak District.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

We have a spare bedroom with single bed in our newer house, and a double bedroom in the older house (the latter would be self-contained, but not quite so comfortable). We have a shared shower/toilet in newer house and toilet/washbasin in older house.

  • shared meals

3 meals a day, usually eaten outside enjoying the view. We are not vegetarian, but happy to accommodate preferences.

  • no money is involved