Back to Top

Hobby Farm in the Beautiful Island of Tasmania needs help with animal husbandry and other chores

World, Oceania, Australia, Birchs Bay

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

27°C, 15:43

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

We have a 100 year old farm which is on 15 acres. We have all types of animals including 1 very spoilt dog who sleeps inside and need extra attention ,2 lambs that live inside smile we have 3 Angora goats which take care of themselves, 3 Alpacas which take care of themselves, 5 chickens that need feeding and watering twice a day, 3 ducks which need feeding and watering twice a day and 11 horses. 3 large thoroughbreds and 8 miniature horses. The 8 minis are shedded at night so duties would include feeding the big horses breakfast and putting them into a paddock for grazing for the day, letting the minis out of their stables in seperate paddocks,giving all the horses hay for the day as well as feeding the ducks and chickens, then mucking out the sheds and refilling their water. At night they would need to be put back in their stables with dinner and replacing their hay.
You would also be in charge of filling up the feed bins and let us know when you are running low on any feed.
It would be preferable if you had experience with farm animals especially horses as well as being around most of the time for our dog.
There would be a few hours each day to go touring , shopping etc. We are quite rural and not many buses come through, but if we are going into town you are more than welcome to join us alternatively we could drop you at a bus stop to catch buses where you would like to go.
.
Some of the work is quite physical, so you should be quite fit and dont mind getting a bit smelly. 7 acres of the property are only used as the rest is a forest. Food is included as well as the internet.
Duties/chores start at approx 9am and finish up at around 11.30 then they get put away and all the animals get dinner around 3pm in winter and between 4.30pm_6pm in summer depending on the weather.
The rest of the time you are free to do whatever you please. Sit on our own private beach, walk through our private forest,absorb the gorgeous view, watch a movie or 2. Mingle or read a book. Its totally up to you
Hoping to hear from you ASAP

I would prefer couples to share the work and NO children please.Also No Vegetarians or Vegans unless you would like to prepare your own food

Need continuous help as I have major back problems which makes it very difficult for me to look after the animals

Regards
Stacey
Check our facebook page Hughenden Farm

About the host

Stacey (47)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English

Last seen online
4 Months ago

We are a middle aged couple that have a hobby farm. We are very outgoing and friendly and are looking for help with our animals.
I Stay at home and look after the farm and my husband works in the Security industry.
We both love nature and everything it has to offer. We treat our animals just like our babies. We love them and hope you will too.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Studio Room with queen size bed, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, electric blanket and heater. Gorgeous views.
Shared kitchen, Tv, family room. Eat meals together.

  • shared meals

You can either cook your own meals and eat on your own or we could cook together or alternatively , I cook and we eat together. We are very flexible.

  • no money is involved