Back to Top

Small traditional Irish farm needs help with garden and maintenance

World, Europe, Ireland, Kilfenora

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

10°C, 04:40

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We are small FREE RANGE PIG and CATTLE farmers just outside the village of Kilfenora, county Clare, in the West of Ireland. We sell our own free range pork meat directly from the farm. We also have a few hens and ducks, a couple of dogs, 2 donkeys and a cat. We have a good size poly tunnel where we grow a lot of organic vegetables and fruits. We are looking for one or two people who would like to come and experience a bit of traditional farming in a lovely part of the country. We are part of an Ecotourism group in the Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark and have some interesting projects in the pipeline, so we need people with different type of skills. We also offer 'Glamping' accommodation on the farm in a converted old horsetruck for accommodation and meals for paying guests. See www.burrenglamping.com
In the springtime, we are going to spend a lot of time preparing the garden, so people who are interested in gardening and clearing work would be suitable.
Kilfenora is in the Burren and home to ceili music, so if you are interested in set dancing - it's a good place to be. Set dancing classes are given once a week followed by a ceili. If you play traditional music there is loads of sessions around the area or if you prefer to just listen - it's up to you! The Burren area is very scenic and has a lot of interesting archaeological sites to discover. We have 2 bikes on the farm that you can use to get around. We like eating well and if you are a vegetarian we can cater for that too.

About the host

Eva

Host since
2016

Speaks
English, French, Swedish

Last seen online
11 Months ago

Eva and Stephen, we are married since 2003. We run the farm on a part time basis. Stephen works as a special needs assistant in a local primary school and also as a Burren Tour guide for more than 20 years. Eva also runs a farm accommodation as in Glamping on the farm, where guests are offered home cooked meals. We are both outgoing and like meeting people from all over the world

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

A room with a comfortable bed with bathroom and wifi.

  • shared meals

We love eating well so all our meals are home cooked using our own produce from our farm and garden (pork, free range eggs)

  • no money is involved