Back to Top

Dublin city centre life

World, Europe, Ireland, Dublin

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

14°C, 10:41

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

This may be an opportunity someone who has an interest in uptown Dublin, big city life who is planning to come to the Dublin soon or is already in the Ireland to settle and having difficulties with their current situation. I am certainly not part of a traditional family, don't live on a farm, don't run a B&B and have no children (that I know about) grin

As a male professional I have few areas I need support with:

- cleaning and ironing: I am a very clean person that prefers an immaculate environment. Fresh linnen, spotless kitchen and bathroom. I also wear quite a lot of shirts and ties. I tend to hate taking those to dry cleaners and even for this sometimes I don't have the time.

- shopping. I can teach you about fine dining (big Gordon Ramsay foodie) and fine drinks so you know what to buy and how to cook. You'll learn to differentiate between "quality" and "expensive", having very good treats doesn't need to cost a lot of money

- cycling or swimming (optional) I'm quite self-conscious about health and sitting in the office the whole day does require some compensation in the mornings or weekends. I am part of some groups but joining with a friend is always a better laugh



I would say that I prefer independent, open minded people. Age isn't important to me but from past experience I would suggest that if you need your parent's permission to travel, are not very independent or rely on your family for financial or emotional support whilst travelling, then perhaps I'm not the best host for you and a more traditional host family would suit you better.

It's quite a hectic life I'm living, very outdoorsy, enjoy some nightlife as well so I would consider this before you message me as I would much prefer people who come here with the right expectations.

If you are interested, please email me with a description of yourself and what your plans are.

I tend to normally have a preference for longer term friendships here (people who are not backpacking and want to stay for more than 1 month) and my standards are quite high grin I will respond to all messages, even if I can’t help you out. These days I receive lot's of messages, so please don't take it personally if I can’t always accommodate.

[Happy to Chat via Whatsapp or Facebook or Drop me a Message if you have any questions]

About the host

Val (30)

Host since
2016

Speaks
English, Spanish, French

Last seen online
2 Years ago

My name is Val and I am a 30 years old professional in the IT industry.

I am an experienced host have been doing couchsurfing, airbnb for 3 years now and ran a hostel for 6months. I have made some great friends along the way. I am well educated, have traveled all over the World and I enjoy helping or mentoring people who are visiting or planning to visit Ireland.

I am a liberal person who appreciates people of a similar nature who want to learn about the world, care about people and want to learn more about themselves. I like music of all genres, watching documentaries, polytical affairs, psychology, philosophy, reading, anything technical, IT, like a good laugh and of course having as much fun as life allows me.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 3 hours a day
  • 4 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared apartment

There is a sofa available in the lounge for our guests to sleep on and bedding is provided.

This is not a small apartment but everything is Shared here and there is Little Privacy. All the facilities are Shared including all the Rooms, Kitchen and Bathroom.

I always try my best to tell those who contact me as much as I can about me before they arrive. Feel free to ask me any direct questions that you may have and I will give you direct honest answers grin

I like to live my life without any hassles. Me and my partner are both hard-working people who work from home and need help around the house.

I certainly would like a new apprentice if this is more what you are looking for, you could occasionally help me with my business which is home based and Business/IT/Technology related. I would like to hear from long term Workawayers who want to live in Ireland for 2 months + or maybe want to settle here eventually. Also you need to be keen to travel.

We have a task list/rota which is quite simple to follow. Involves daily housekeeping tasks, acting as my personal assistant and other simple tasks. However, these tasks are not that time consuming, so you would have plenty of time to spend on your own or to explore the area on your own.

  • shared meals

I cook couple of times a week and eat fresh food in the house. My former guests normally eat their evening meal with with me and you can also buy your own food to eat for lunch or during the day. If you are accustomed to eating specific types of food or meal times, then please ask me more about mydiet before deciding on me as a host.

  • no money is involved