Back to Top

Housework, DIY, Permaculture Gardening in a Friendly Bulgarian Village

World, Europe, Bulgaria, Kirilovo



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We have a small house in a village in south-east Bulgaria which are gradually turning into an eco-project (permaculture, sustainability).
We're looking for helpers for
- Housework (cooking, cleaning, tidying, food preservation)
- Gardening (seasonal tasks: mowing, weeding, landscaping, planting, composting, watering, mulching...)
- Construction (small projects, e.g. convert the old outside toilet into a composting toilet, build a small pergola from reclaimed materials)
- Maintenance and repairs (various small jobs around the house)
- Pet care (rescue cats and dogs)
Tell us what areas of work you're interested in, and we'll try to allocate this kind of work to you. If you're a couple, you can work in different areas according to your skills.

The placement is suitable for a single person or a couple. Work hours are flexible. We ask for 25 hours a week, and you can choose your own schedule.

No smoking in the house, please.

Please apply only if you are fully vaccinated agianst Covid-19.

About the host


Rayne (60)

Host since



English, German

Bilingual German and English.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I'm an author, writing non-fiction books and ghost stories. I love nature, organic gardening, history, the arts and animals.

As a German, I lived and worked in Britain for much of my life. I came to Bulgaria to fulfill my sustainable independence dream and create my personal flowering, fruiting organic paradise.
I train cats. (Have you ever met a trained cat? You may be surprised. Yes, it's possible to train a cat - if the cat wants to be trained. My kitties love it.)

I'm a truth-loving introvert vegetarian.

My project blog

Wildflowers in my orchard meadow

June 2, 2022

Beautiful, colourful wildflowers everywhere!

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

You will have a nice guest room in a private house. The bathroom is shared.
The room has a large bed, suitable for a couple.

  • shared meals

We'll eat most meals together. We can take turns cooking and clearing up. Or, if you choose to do housework as your field of work, you can do all the cooking, and then this will count as work time.

  • no money is involved