Back to Top

Exterior building and garden maintenance required

World, Europe, Greece, Anatoliki Attiki



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Hi, my name is Niko and I’ve just come back to Greece after years of living in London.
The house is 20 minutes from Athens airport, were I can meet you and take you to the property. From here you could start organising the rest of your trip to Greece. We are 40 minutes from the centre of Athens on the hills close to the sea. The nearest beaches are 2kms away.
I have returned to live with my parents and to look after them. Now is the time I need to start renovating the house and try to bring the garden back to its former glory. My home was built by my father and it took him years to complete. He was a self-taught artist. Everything was crafted by him from the doors, to the furniture and to the impressive stained-glass dome in the dining area.

It’s a private house covering 500sqm
I require 1 or 2 volunteers. Couples welcome. Up to 2 weeks maybe more depending on how long it takes to complete the projects.
I am currently looking for a couple of people for different jobs:
A) I am looking for someone before spring who can garden, refresh the soil, prune, plant new plants and create a small vegetable patch. There is also an old garden irrigation system that needs mending.
The garden is small and surrounds the house. It is about 3 meters wide on the sides and at the back. There is a 20m x 20m space at the front. Keep in mind large areas of the garden are paved and most of the flower beds are around the perimeter close to the fences.
B) Someone else for other jobs during spring or summer that require attention mainly sanding and painting railings and wooden window frames and doors, repairing and building up the stonework of the raised flower beds to hold the soil.
You are very welcome as long as you respect the house and us, as we will respect you too. You will stay in the house with our family and you will have your own private room in the attic space. We are nice people and we like to look after others. We will have meals together and in your free time when it’s possible, I will take you to go to see nearby areas from historic sites to beautiful beaches. Other times I can take you and pick you up from bus stops.

About the host

Nikos (55)

Host since




My stepfather speaks Italian

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

Hi, I am 54 years old and I just returned to Greece after 20 years living in England. I worked in hospitality for more than 30 years and I had my own restaurant. I returned to look after my parents and to start a new life in Greece hopefully by renting my house to holiday makers.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Two rooms in the attic as seen in the pictures

  • shared meals

  • no money is involved