Back to Top

Kuckucksmuehle - 16th century watermill, hackerspace & eco community needs volunteers

World, Europe, Germany, Ostprignitz-Ruppin



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 5 volunteers

Franz, Robert, Gert and myself live on the property permanently and we welcome volunteers on a regular basis. We also organise events that people from Berlin come to enjoy here including IT Meetups were he hack together on the latest projects and also non IT weekends where we work on other general tasks such as gardening, fence building, wood chopping, building renovations etc.

We live in a beautiful historical building in the middle of the german countryside. A perfect place to get in touch with nature, practice your permaculture and handy skills. Learn more about yourself and others by becoming part of our community.

Please note that we speak mostly English here, so a good level of understanding is important to communicate with other members and also understand your tasks.
Volunteers are treated as part of our community, sharing meals and participating in events that we have ongoing.

Please know that in the summer we have only outdoor shower and outdoor compost toilet during the day. At night we use the shared bathroom inside the house (but not for showering). During the winter we use the shared bathroom inside the house.

We have predominantly vegetarian food however we do keep animals on the farm for food and we occasionally eat meat that is donated to us. We do not buy cow milk and meat but we don't prohibit it if volunteers want to buy their own.

We are not able to help you with your visa arrangements please make sure you have a visa to travel to Germany before you apply for the positions here.

Accommodation is in a dormitory with 5 sleeping spaces. If you do not want to be in a shared room you can ask about renting one of the single / double rooms we have on site. Alternatively you can borrow a tent from us, in which case please let us know about this in advance and bring your own sleeping bag.

We are not near any shops or towns with shops please know that you will be in the middle of the countryside, if you feel uncomfortable with consider this seriously before you make your application.

You can read about a typical day from a volunteer here:

About the host

Aimee (39)

Host since



English, Italian

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I am Aimee, project manager and co-founder of Eco Hacker Farm, my main activities revolve around the running of Kuckucksmuehle, Eco Hacker Farm projects. My main drive is to live a happy sustainable life with people who are like minded and spread our work as far as possible to inspire people to do the same. I live with my partner Franz, my friend Robert and the very funny Gert, together we are permanent residents for the Kuckucksmuehle co-living project. We are looking to expand our community further with space for a couple more people in order to make our community more sustainable.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • elderly care
  • eco projects
  • animal care
  • house sitting
  • hostel support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room, tent

We have a volunteer dorm which has 5 sleeping spaces ( 2 beds double and 1 single). If you want to have a separate room there is the opportunity to rent a room if that is available during your stay. The dorm is mixed ie all genders welcome.

During the summer there is also a possibility to camp instead and you are welcome to borrow one of our tents to do that but please bring your own sleeping bag.

  • self catering

You will be able to prepare your own breakfast and lunch, in the evenings we have a shared meal.

  • no money is involved