Back to Top

Friendly rural charity garden needs helpers

World, Europe, England, Studley,



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Welcome to our friendly haven! Situated in a village with lovely countryside, this placement is only for: male students (18 to 26yrs.). It's a mellow atmosphere with a variety of activities. You'll be helping on-site 5 hours Monday-Friday (and additionally help with house cleaning). All other time is your own. Placements usually last 4 weeks- but can be longer.

The unusual landscaped garden (Registered Charity #1174239) comprises various 'rooms'/plant collections which receives visiting groups; teaches horticulture & conservation; runs community projects, offers skill training for the young unemployed.

No previous experience or skills required as training is given. But you need a reasonable standard of spoken English.

We also have a large library; fully equipped Gym and small pool. Good countryside for jogging etc. We are situated next to a friendly village and the famous Bowood House & Park (& golf resort). Wood carving club & football club in village.

Chippenham (8minutes by bus) has: 
2 night clubs; lots of pubs; good range of shops and sports facilities. 
Calne (2 minutes by bus) has: skateboard/bmx park; good restaurants; motor museum.

PLACES TO VISIT NEARBY: Many interesting things to see such as: Roman Bath Spa; Bristol; Malmesbury; Longleat House; Lacock Abbey; Salisbury Cathedral; Avebury Stone Circles; Bowood House & Gardens; Cotswold Water Oark; Somerset coast; Stonehenge; South Wales castles & mountains. 

Main railway station (direct from London) is Chippenham Bath is only 11 minutes by train. Airport: Bristol

About the host

Stephen (70)

Host since




Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

 I was a professional painter/sculptor; art & history teacher; interior designer. Now I'm retired but run my own charity. I also write & teach on wildlife, conservation, history. I am also an expert on English history/ heritage/customs.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • charity work
  • art projects
  • computer help
  • internet support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Private room (lots of bookshelves). Wifi. Small table etc. Cupboard for clothes.

  • shared meals

Breakfast and dinner is prepared by me. Sometimes lunch also- and sometimes make your own sandwich.

  • no money is involved