Back to Top

Permaculture homestead for an inspiring stay

World, Europe, Croatia, Živković Kosa

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 6 volunteers

Our place is a permaculture family homestead on the top of a hill in the heart of Croatia.
We live a simple, healthy, holistic lifestyle as practical realists. We like to create a sustainable habitat by following nature's patterns.
We use permaculture principles to develop our terrain and our life. We care for the earth, for the people around us, for the future and we like to share our abundance with you.

We live a simple, partly self sufficient life off the land. We love to prepare delicious dishes with ingredients from the garden and our stable. We like to make our own (sourdough) bread, crackers, cookies, fruit wines, jams, syrups, sauerkraut, yogurt, mayonnaise, kimchi & kefir.
We collect various (medicinal) herbs for tea, tinctures and oils, cosmetic products, cleaning products and for the kitchen.

We live with quite some animals: 4 cats (mouse & squirrel catchers), 2 dogs (for fun and to guard the other animals), various amounts of rabbits (lawn mowers, for manure and meat) and chickens (compost turners, bug hunters, for eggs & meat), bees (but we are newbie beekeepers) and soon also turkeys, goats and sheep (terrain cleaners for milk, wool and meat). And Barbara wants a peacock.

The homestead is slowly turning into a permaculture nut farm where people can camp for a peaceful holiday in nature.

You can help us with the garden, with cleaning parts of the terrain, making the camp site more beautiful and turning the terrain into an edible landscape. The animals need fences, the paths need wood chips mulch, we can do some pruning, taking care of the (polyculture, no dig) garden, composting and mulching with various methods, and you can help us with everyday tasks. Like making jam, drying fruits, collecting seeds, hunting bugs...

You stay for at least 3 weeks to be part of our life and get a good overview of all aspects of a fulfilling, sustainable life in the countryside.
You need a certain amount of independence, curiosity, flexibility and fun and don't mind dirty hands, curious cats and noisy kids grin
If you eat vegan or your main motivation is consuming travelling and to have a cheap place to stay, please do not apply. 

Please write a personal message (to Peter and Barbara) about you, what you want to learn, why, what we can learn from you, your skills and your dream future, so we can setup a good stay for you.
We get more than 400 requests a year so you need to make it a PERSONAL message with your motivation!

About the host

Peter (47)

Host since

2019

Languages

Croatian, Nederlands, English, German

Last seen online

4 months ago

We are a family of 4, living in nature with lots of animals.
Peter is the visionary, designer, wood worker, blacksmith, all round creative person and personal coach.
Barbara is the permaculturist, gardener, nut farmer, web designer and facilitator for courses and workshops.
Nol (2004) is learning to be a cook and likes to play games.
Fleur (2010) loves to play with people of all ages.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • camper, tent

We offer a caravan, or a big tent when there are more volunteers.

  • shared meals

We love to prepare lunches and dinners together; breakfast you can have y yourself.
Once a week we have family time and you cook for yourself.

  • no money is involved